Midday diversion with another cycle tourist - You CAN go home again - CycleBlaze

September 2, 2018

Midday diversion with another cycle tourist

The night wasn’t the best. Not marriotts’s problems, but maybe more due to the location, from about 10:30 until 2:00, random shouting and cheering in the street. Then (I guess the bars closed at 2:00am) people hit the streets and shouted, laughed, loudly conversed with their gangs in the street. That ended around 3:00am, when it changed to random people shouting obscenities and unintelligible conversation until 5:30am. Sunup at 6:30 so yeah, the night’s sleep was probably the worst ever on a bike tour.

Streets were quiet Sunday morning. But what’s with the stop lights? I think I went 3 miles before 8 had a single green light
Heart 0 Comment 0

The chairs were ginormous!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I wind my way through farmland straight into a headwind. All day long. The wind was warm and humid forecast was rain and thundershowers by 2:00pm, so I figured I would see some rain.

Always sad to see businesses closed in rural areas.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Glad the road goes to the left of those mountains
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view most of the morning. I figured the internet could use a few more “cat” pictures
Heart 2 Comment 0
Crossing a stream
Heart 1 Comment 0

I arrived at the 1890 house (one of my planned stops) around 11:40. I asked the gentleman at the entrance if there was a place I could lock up my bike, and after he advised the best location, I walked in, paid my fare, and he and I chatted about tours and what he’s been on and what I’ve been on. Turns out he’s a hammocker, too. I enjoyed hearing about Benjamins’s exploits before the tour started. I also like visiting the local museums along the tour.

Interior of the entrance hall of the Wickwire home (1890 house)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Exterior. You can see the clouds forming to dump rain. But (spoiler alert) it stayed dry
Heart 1 Comment 0

I diverted from the main roads onto fall creek, then upper creek, then lower creek, as I made my way into Ithaca. Then, to the Wegmans grocery store for a sandwich, chips, and a chocolate milk. Making my way out to the bike rack, the chocolate milk lasted about 20 seconds. But, oh, was it amazingly good. I phoned the state park to get a hiker/biker site but there was no room a time the park. All I needed was two trees, but nothing at the state park. So, my stealth options were limited with only a bottle’s worth of water for the night and the morning. So I reached out to hotels.com and found a room in the middle of the town for <$100. With my sandwich and my chips and a shower in the room, I sat back to enter my journal and watch Indiana Jones 3 on the TV.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 63 miles (101 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0