Day 5: Blackfoot to Idaho Falls - Riding the Snake 2023 - CycleBlaze

June 4, 2023

Day 5: Blackfoot to Idaho Falls

Today I'm starting the day feeling very fatigued. Fortunately today's route is short and flat. I got on the road at 10:30 and pedaled as slowly as possible, and of course I took photo stops.

I had a headwind at first, but it turned into a tailwind later in the day. It was never a big factor. Mostly sunny with a high of 75F. Nicest weather so far.

I spent a few minutes looking around downtown Blackfoot. It looks like it had periods of prosperity, but it's not a boom town now. Blackfoot does have the advantage of being on I-15 about halfway between the two biggest cities in eastern Idaho, Pocatello and Idaho Falls.

The nearby Fort Hall Indian Reservation makes this area less Mormon than many surrounding towns. But the reservation is well south of Blackfoot. I never saw it. The town doesn't appear to have a large native population.

Very nice Craftsman style building in downtown Blackfoot.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Downtown Blackfoot is well preserved if not exactly thriving.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The electronic sign doesn't belong on a historic theatre.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Scott AndersonAgreed. Unsightly.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

I stopped to look at the old train station and noticed that it is now the Idaho Potato Museum. It was open but I didn't go in.

Blackfoot's former railroad station is now the Idaho Potato Museum.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltFunny, a potato museum! It would have been interesting to go in and check out. :)
Reply to this comment
5 months ago

A few miles outside of Blackfoot I stopped to take a photo of an unusual old sign. The owner walked out and explained that the building was built by her grandfather in 1959 as a Square Dance barn and Western Wear store. She re-purposed the western wear sign.

This old sign originally advertised western wear.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The irrigation canals were all built in the 1900-1905 time period. Nearly every farm town was founded immediately after a new canal provided irrigation water.

Downtown Firth. Established in 1905 like most towns around here.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's route crosses the Snake river twice. Still very wide, with low bridges. I saw no reservoir today but the river is well regulated by upstream reservoirs.

Crossing the Snake river again on a low bridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rare stopping place with a river view.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I thought I would be tired of seeing irrigated farms by now, but I'm still discovering interesting things.

Nice barn and storage silo.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I saw almost no farm houses until today. Now I am seeing farm houses scattered among the farms. That is a welcome change.

Awesome Craftsman style farm house.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Some farm houses are old and some are new. The new houses all fit the Mormon stereotype. The house itself is always shades of brown. The roof is either dark brown or black. The surroundings are always perfectly tidy. And the house is always surrounded by a large expanse of irrigated grass.

Totally Mormon new house.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's route is mostly on very low traffic farm roads. I appreciate that. Most of the traffic is on I-15 and US 91.

Through farms.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I started seeing suburban style McMansion houses about 10 miles from the city of Idaho Falls. It didn't take long for fancy immaculate houses to completely replace the farm fields.

I'm starting to see more houses now as I get close to Idaho Falls.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Now all houses, no farms.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The riverside areas south of the city of Idaho Falls were mostly residential. But the surroundings quickly become industrial when entering the city limits. A riverside recreational path begins, but the first two miles of path are extremely ugly. The path is lined with tall fences separating the path from mostly abandoned industrial properties. And mostly overgrown private property between the path and river obstructing the water view.

Now you know where Budweiser gets its barley.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Then a mile south of downtown the industrial properties abruptly end and the trail and surroundings become upscale and urban. I passed the hydro power plant at the south end of the falls that is the first electric power plant in Idaho, operating since 1900.

Overall I liked the route coming into Idaho Falls. My route is more meandering than US 91 but has river views and almost no traffic. Idaho Falls is a big sprawling town, population 67,000. Many roads are choked with traffic.

Idaho Falls below the actual falls.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The trail suddenly became full of people when I got to the falls. Pedestrians, cyclists, and many Bird scooters. It was a shock to be alone all day and then suddenly in a crowded place.

The trail is very fancy near downtown.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The falls is a real magnet for people. Local and tourists. The dam is about 1/4 mile long, crossing the Snake river at an extreme diagonal angle. Below the dam is the natural falls. It's very loud.

From this view looking upstream, downtown and the LDS temple are on the right side of the water. All the motels are on the left side of the water.

Wide view of Idaho Falls. Partly man-made, partly natural.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Telephoto view of Idaho Falls.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I stopped to look at many places alongside the falls. It's incredibly loud.

Upper end of the 1/4 mile long dam that crosses the river diagonally.
Heart 2 Comment 0

It's much more quiet and peaceful above the dam. It's a shallow lake but does have a visible current. It's safe for swimming if it ever gets warm enough.

Trail along the lake above the falls. Still a visible current.
Heart 2 Comment 0

My motel is almost directly across the lake from the Idaho Falls LDS temple. I will see it up close tomorrow.

Looking across the lake at the LDS Temple. View from near my motel.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I didn't spend much time exploring the downtown river walk area. I have all day tomorrow to explore the 3 mile loop that has downtown and the temple on one side and the falls and hotels on the other side.

Tonight's home is Le Ritz Hotel which was by far the cheapest 3 star lodging in town. The reason is because the hotel is being renovated. Only a portion of the hotel is open for guests now and the hotel has few services. I reserved a river-view room and they delivered on that promise. From my room I can see the river, temple, and people passing by on the river walk. It will do, even with no chair at the desk.

Dinner was at a nearby bar and grill called Jakers. I ordered the $40 halibut dinner which was excellent. It's nice to be in a big town with fine dining.

I'm extremely tired and not feeling well. My body temperature isn't regulating well. I feel very cold when I lay down in bed. Good thing tomorrow is a rest day.

Distance: 34.9 mi.
Average Speed: 8.0 mph
Ascent/Descent: +393/-216 ft.

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 237 miles (381 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Mike AylingHope you are feeling better tomorrow.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
George HallGlad you have a rest day, it's no fun to be sick on tour. Hopefully a day off will do some good and you'll feel better.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago