Day 11: Alpine to Jackson - Riding the Snake 2023 - CycleBlaze

June 10, 2023

Day 11: Alpine to Jackson

I ate breakfast in my room and got on the road at 8:05. It was chilly, the first day of the tour to be overcast early in the morning. The sky was mostly overcast all day.

Entering the Snake river canyon, looking into the sun.
Heart 3 Comment 0

US 26 has easy grades following the Snake river upstream through the canyon. Wind river range to the right. Grand Teton range to the left. The highway stays 50-100 feet above the river with no river access. The sky was somewhat sunny in the valley behind me, but cloudy in the mountains ahead.

Snake river looking back, downstream.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I enjoyed the river views. River always on my right so I can see it well from the road. Truck and motor home traffic was somewhat heavy but the highway has a decent shoulder.

High above the Snake river.
Heart 3 Comment 0
US 26 and Snake river.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I took 2 rest stops before arriving at Astorica Hot Springs at 11:30. I had a 11:15 to 1:15 appointment which cost $18. The hot spring is just across the river from the highway. The 1-lane internal truss bridge has low clearance and was recently damaged by a tall vehicle.

Now close to the water.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Crossing the damaged 1-lane bridge to Astoria hot spring.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I soaked for about an hour at Astoria hot spring. Didn't want to get too sunburned at mid-day. I chose to soak at an adult pool that supposedly has a quiet rule. More pleasant than the family pool which has kids yelling and splashing around.

Family pool at Astoria hot spring.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Most of the soaking pools have a view of the Snake river. It's a nice place. Admission is limited, by appointment, so it is never crowded. The kiddie pool is chlorinated but all the other pools have flow-thru water that doesn't require chlorine.

I soaked in the 103F adult pool.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Tan lines at Astoria hot spring overlooking the Snake river.
Heart 2 Comment 0

After the soak I continued pedaling towards Jackson. A bike trail begins shortly before Hoback Junction.

Heart 1 Comment 0
A bike trail begins near Hoback Junction.
Heart 1 Comment 0

At Hoback Junction I have a view of the muddy Hoback river flowing into the Snake river. All the rivers and creeks have high flow because of ongoing snow melt.

Muddy Hoback river flowing into the Snake river.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Second Snake river crossing, looking upstream towards Jackson.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I took a long stop at Hoback Junction to eat a sandwich. It was the warmest time of day but the temperature was only 68F, with a brisk wind.

Hoback Junction.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Bull Elk sculptures are popular.
Heart 0 Comment 0

From Hoback Junction I pedaled on US 89 for about a mile because I couldn't find the trail.

Should I multiply distance by 4 when biking on 4 highways at the same time?
Heart 1 Comment 0

Just north of Hoback Junction the trail suddenly appeared on my right after crossing under the highway in a tunnel. I followed the trail all the way into Jackson. At first the trail is squeezed between the highway and river on a tall retaining wall. It was obviously very expensive to build.

Snake river crossing #3.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bike trail on a 30 foot high retaining wall.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Snake river crossing #4.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After the 4th river crossing the trail turns away from the river and becomes quieter, more pastoral. I enjoyed the views. The road is just a short distance away, but up the hill so I can seldom see or hear it.

Scenic but hilly bike trail to Jackson.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The bike trail is hillier than the highway but I enjoyed the solitude. I was surprised how few people were using the trail.

The road is nearby but not very visible up the hill.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The trail continues all the way to the city of Jackson, connecting to the highway on the edge of town. Traffic was extremely heavy once I got into town.

I pedaled less than a mile on US 89 to the Super 8 motel. I arrived at 4 PM and got my reserved room which cost $332 for one night. Lodging is extremely expensive in Jackson Hole. This is the first time I have paid more than $300 for a motel.

Farm just south of Jackson.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Dinner was at a Mexican restaurant 2 miles away. I was able to pedal on back roads, but even the back roads have heavy traffic. The city of Jackson did not make a good impression on me. I will see it again at the end of the tour.

Today was a good day despite the overcast skies. I had many views of the Snake river and a nice soak at a "new" (to me) hot spring. It seems like I am destined to finish the tour with cloudy skies. Apparently that's normal in June.

Distance: 36.3 mi.
Average Speed: 8.3 mph
Ascent/Descent: +1371/-897 ft.

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 406 miles (653 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltWow, your hotel in Jackson Hole was really expensive! Ack!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago