Day 1: Excursion into Snake river canyon - Riding the Snake 2023 - CycleBlaze

May 31, 2023

Day 1: Excursion into Snake river canyon

The day started at The Lodge at Hot Lake Springs in northeast Oregon. I got away at about 8 AM but the clock jumped forward an hour when I crossed from Pacific time zone to Mountain time zone. I drove 290 miles on I-84 to Twin Falls, Idaho. I arrived just after 2 PM, giving me plenty of time for a canyon excursion on the bike.

I drove across the Perinne bridge when entering Twin Falls. Today's bike ride starts at the visitor center adjacent to the bridge and rim trail.

Today I will pedal the rim trail west of the bridge and ride the only road into the canyon to see the Snake river up close. Then of course I have to climb back up to the rim. The excursion into the canyon is miles 10 to 21.3 on the route map.

Snake river looking downstream from the rim trail.
Heart 5 Comment 0

The visitor center has a large parking lot right next to the rim trail and the Perrine bridge. It's the logical starting point for any short visit to the Snake river canyon. The bridge is impressive but details don't show up well because it's painted dark brown. The first bridge at this site opened in 1927. The existing bridge opened in 1976.

Wikipedia: The Perrine Bridge is approximately 1,500 feet (457 m) in total length, with a main span of 993 feet (303 m) and a deck height of 486 feet (148 m) above the Snake river. It is the eighth highest bridge in the United States.

Perrine Bridge from the rim trail next to the visitor center.
Heart 3 Comment 0

While preparing for the bike ride I noticed several guys sitting on shady grass at the visitor center, spending a great deal of time messing with colorful fabric. I didn't realize until later that they were packing parachutes.

I pedaled about a mile west on the Rim Trail. Views were amazing. No trees obstructing the view into the canyon. And everything is perfectly clean and tidy because Twin Falls is a Mormon town.

Now the road into the canyon is visible.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The rim trail has an unobstructed view.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The Rim Trail continues another half mile west, but I turned onto the road that goes in the canyon. It's the only road in the Twin Falls area that goes into the canyon. Down below is a golf course and a big riverside park, but no residences.

Road descending steeply into the canyon.
Heart 1 Comment 0

At the first switchback turn I stopped to look at Perrine falls. This large creek flows through the city of Twin Falls, then drops abruptly into the canyon

Perrine Falls is at the first switchback turn.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Perrine Falls
Heart 3 Comment 0

Pavement ends just past the golf course at the entrance to the wastewater treatment plant. I continued another 3 miles on gravel roads. The first mile is open to cars but the last two miles are gated, only open to bikes and hikers. I saw exactly zero people after passing the gate. It's Wednesday afternoon and most locals are at work or school.

The road stays 50-100 feet above the river, with no river views. I detoured off the road to see the river up close.

First up close view of the Snake river looking upstream.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Snake river looking downstream from a closed bridge.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I saw many distant waterfalls during today's ride. The winter snow melt is still ongoing. Snowfall was abundant last winter. I enjoyed seeing so much water in the desert canyon.

One of many distant waterfalls I saw cascading into the canyon.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I pedaled as far downstream as possible. I turned around at a robust and tall gate. It was very nice of the land owner to allow visitors onto their private bridge which has a nice view of muddy Rock creek just before it flows into the Snake river.

Turnaround point at a private bridge.
Heart 2 Comment 0

From the turnaround point I returned upstream on the 1.5 mile singletrack trail to Augur falls instead of on the gravel road. I walked my bike when the trail crossed rock outcroppings, but most of the trail was rideable on my recumbent bike.

Near the beginning of the singletrack is a view of the Snake river looking downstream. This is the farthest downstream I see the Snake river, about 3050 feet elevation. I won't see the lower 2/3 of the river flowing towards the Columbia river and the Pacific ocean.

From here I will pedal the High Desert portion of the 1078 mile long river almost to the headwaters, to 6800 feet elevation.

My lowest view of the Snake river looking downstream towards the Pacific ocean. Waterfall visible.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Singletrack trail going upstream to Augur falls.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Augur Falls on the Snake river.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The temperature peaked at about 75F while I was on the Augur falls trail. Then building clouds caused the temperature to drop slowly.

Upper Augur falls and the trail.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The Augur falls trail climbs very steeply to return to the main gravel road. I pushed the bike up some steep sandy grades. Then I retraced my route back to the paved road.

I began climbing the 8% grade up the paved canyon road. But at the first switchback I turned left, steep downhill, to Centennial Riverside park. I want to see the bridge from water level. The view is good but it was mostly overcast by then.

Perrine bridge and Snake river from Centennial Riverside Park. The roadway is 487 feet above the river.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The 450 foot climb from the riverside park back to the rim is mostly 8% grade. I had to work much harder than I prefer. The extreme exertion drastically reduces my endurance. I was very tired when I reached the top, and on the rim trail I hurried to get back to my car before the storm caught up with me. The passing front made it uncomfortably cold and windy on the rim trail, but it never rained.

Storm approaching when returning to the visitor center. Strong tailwind but no rain.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I finished the ride at 5:45. The excursion into the canyon took only 3 hours but was very strenuous. I put the bike back into my car and drove a few blocks to check in at the Quality Inn. I still have my car tonight. Car-free bike traveling begins tomorrow morning.

Distance: 14 miles
Average Speed: 7.1 mph
Ascent/Descent: +970/-970 feet

Today's ride: 14 miles (23 km)
Total: 14 miles (23 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0