September 13, 2019: Sedlčany to Tábor - Praha to Wien Greenway Tour (Tour 19) - 2019 🇨🇿 🇦🇹 - CycleBlaze

September 13, 2019

September 13, 2019: Sedlčany to Tábor

Living in a Brewery

Hotel: LH Hotel Dvorak Tábor, CAD$128

I checked a few times for updates from home and finally got one from Alex that everything was fine. Only then was I alright to go to sleep. Again, this led to one somewhat tired cyclist when all of a sudden the sun was up and the alarm was jingling along with Alex's voice.

I had read online that the breakfast was pretty lame here, and TA did not disappoint. There was a basket with a few slices of bread but better than that, there was butter to put on it, and some slop of eggs, ham, flavourless onions and runny ooze that made everything a gooey mess. I was hungry, but after eating it, I wondered if that had been a mistake in case any of the food was tainted or old.

Climbing up one of the many hills today. -- near Sedlcany, Czechia
Heart 0 Comment 0

I packed up my things and went out to get our bikes out of the garage and loaded mine onto the bike. MA came with her things and we lashed them onto the bike all the while the hostess and her husband were chatting away in Czech, I think saying how they had a great impression of Canada, and their knowledge of others who had toured by bike in the area. They really were a sweet couple so it was a nice stay, then they enthusiastically waved us off as we pedaled down the road toward the town square then out of town to the PV Greenway route. This involved a 2 km backtracking from yesterday, but then we were on to new territory. Territory that abruptly turned steeply upward and climbed for quite a while. Talk about a rude awakening. Within the first few minutes our coats were off and we were both panting and hot from the climb.

Image not found :(
Main square. -- Tabor, Czechia
Heart 0 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Typical of today's undulating road along eh Czech Greenway route. -- near Tabor, Czechia
Heart 1 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Main square. -- Tabor, Czechia
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rolling fields along our route. -- between Sedlcany and Tabor, Czechia
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just one of the booths in Tabor's main square for tonight's festval. -- Tabor, Czechia
Heart 0 Comment 0
Walking from the Dvorak Hotel to the main square. -- Tabor, Czechia
Heart 0 Comment 0

As yesterday, the route wound through rows of trees, through beautiful little villages, and had expansive views of meadows and fields down into distant valleys. The road did not look too steep, but it really did undulate and was really quite tiring. This is not to say that it was not pleasant, though. My only problem is that my stomach seemed just a wee bit off, and I suspect it was that breakfast goo causing the issues. I was able to continue though and hoped for the best.

On most of the climbs, like yesterday, I was down into my 22x36 gear which got me up all hills but two. Those ones I had to walk a bit as they were just too steep. I was surprised at how strong I was, actually, so I guess it was due to my Portugal trip in the spring and regular rides around Lillabelle Lake while at home over the summer.

The roads were generally quiet again though  over the last few km into Tábor they got a lot busier. I had read this warning in the Greenway brochure so was ready. It was not that bad, though.

After just over four hours of riding we came to the sign for the city and followed the gps up into the centre and to the Dvořak Hotel, formerly a brewery many years ago. It is quite an attractive hotel with a beautiful cobblestoned courtyard, a pretty lobby, and nice rooms with... yes, a bathtub. What better way to finish the ride than with a soak in the tub! The room overlooks the river below and rolling fields are visible in the distance. Very beautiful. The only bit that made me uncomfortable was that we had to leave the bikes underneath the hotel in the parking garage. We were told that guests are always accompanied by staff when they go to get their car... but still, for my bike to be out of view makes me nervous. No bike, no tour.

I was feeling slightly better so we wandered up to the town square where we found that a music festival will be on tonight. A huge stage was set up, there were booths with beer, sausage, pork, beef, nuts, and many other foods all set up. Looks like my lucky streak continues for stumbling upon musical events while on holiday.

We sat and had a cider/beer at one pub then went next door to the Havana restaurant for a lamburger and fries which was quite tasty, then returned to the hotel for our coats for tonight's festival. When we got back to the hotel there was a group of six or so cycle tourists, who, as it turned out, are also Canadian. They rode today from Prague and tomorrow head to Ceske Budejovice then Česky Krumlov, eventually en route to Brno then Vienna. They are an independent group with one who seems to be the organizer.

It is still early now, so I hope I can stay awake for the festival start of 8 pm. Even if for just a short while to see what it is all about.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 km (29 miles)
Total: 152 km (94 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0