May 5, 2019 - Same year; new tour. - Praha to Wien Greenway Tour (Tour 19) - 2019 🇨🇿 🇦🇹 - CycleBlaze

May 5, 2019

May 5, 2019 - Same year; new tour.

Connecting 2019 to 2015, 2011 and 1992.

Played with some software to make another title page.
Heart 0 Comment 0

EVEN though my tour from Faro to Lisbon has my tires still cooling (I got back three weeks ago), I am ready to go again. In fact, whilst I was cycling Eurovelo 1, I was thinking of where and when since I was back to cycle touring after a two year hiatus due to a clumsy fall on ice in the spring of 2018.

A few years ago in 2015, my wife and I headed out on a circle tour out of Praha, Czech Republic, and back again. It was beautiful there. Praha was spellbinding, Bohemia was magical - Czechia is awesome. Over the four years since that tour, I realized that I had somehow missed the online discussion about the Czech Greenway, connecting Praha to Wien along quiet cycle paths, pastoral side roads and historical villages. Was I blind or something?

I have cycled out of Wien on a couple of other tours (1992 and 2011) and have thoroughly enjoyed the city. Could there be anything that isn't good to come out of cycling the Greenway? I think not.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesWe of course are just back from the Greenway. One of our takeaways was "Hey, why do we have to stick to this route when all these other roads look great too?" But maybe the Greenway has selected more scenic or safer ways. We would have to go see more off Greenway territory to know that answer. The advantage of onthe road signage is of course significant, but then again it had enough holes in it that we were saying "Without the GPS there would be no way, right here."

Because the ride is so fresh in our memory, we will be following you with double interest.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago