Day 99 - still at Cooperstown, ND - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

August 21, 2023

Day 99 - still at Cooperstown, ND

Since I'd gone to bed so late last night, I set my phone alarm for 8:00am this morning. I was sleeping so well that I don't know when I would have gotten up if the alarm hadn't gone off. Rain showers were passing by now and then, and it was cold outside, partly due to the east wind. It was sure nice to have a warm motel room. I made a cup of coffee with the room's coffee maker, then worked on posting yesterday's report.

At 9:30am I went to the motel office to sign up for another night here. Debbie showed me where the laundry machines are. They were free to use, including detergent and softener. This is the first time on this trip since leaving home that my clothes will have Snuggle softness.

I had my laundry all folded and put away by 12:50pm. I called Pizza Ranch to ask if they had a buffet going right now. They did until 1:30pm. I walked quickly uptown so I wouldn't miss that. I think I did a pretty good job getting my money's worth.

I took a few pictures on my way back to the motel. Some are of the storage area for a manufacturing company - Sheyenne Tooling and Manufacturing. This is probably of more interest to me than any of my journal readers. 

I was back at the motel at 2:20pm. I had posted a few replies to journal comments while my clothes were washing and drying. I should have continued with that, but instead took a nap from 2:30pm to 4:20pm. I did post a few more comments after that.

Byron was outside working on an ATV. I was impressed on how he had all his tools laid out in an orderly fashion. When I work on projects my tools get scattered all over the place. Brian had been a truck driver. Truck drivers always have interesting stories. Brian told me a couple. Both were downhill stories. One was with failed brakes and the other was on freezing rain ice. Except for being quite shook up, both stories ended well.

I just wanted a light snack for supper and was thinking ice cream. So at 6:55pm I walked east to Grumpy's, but found them closed. My next option was to walk uptown to Miller's Fresh Foods. They had a nice selection of bakery treats. I decided on cookies and chocolate milk, with the idea that I'd save some for tomorrow.

When I got back to the motel room it was time to work on picture selection for today and writing up this evening report.

I'm so glad I made this motel room stop. It kept me out of the cold and allowed me to get caught up some. The east wind is predicted to be calmer tomorrow, and it's supposed to go from partly cloudy to mostly sunny. Sounds like a good day for continuingly on southeast toward home.

Jeff

Spent: $73.10 plus $5 (motel room) + $10 (laundry donation) + $13.32 plus $2.50 (lunch) + $9.98 (chocolate milk, cookies) = $113.90

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Check-in area for Westside Motel
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dessert - pudding and more mashed potatoes.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scrap
Heart 2 Comment 0
More scrap
Heart 2 Comment 0
Front lawn of motel.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Westside Motel office
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezNo stop light towns with mom and pop motels are the best!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kelly IniguezKelly,
I didn't know Cooperstown has no stoplights, but I see you're right.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0