Day 89 - still at Williston, ND - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

August 11, 2023

Day 89 - still at Williston, ND

The motel breakfast here is served between 5:00am and 9:00am. When I woke up at 5:23am I was thinking, "I'm already late for breakfast." I decided last night that I would get another day's report posted before I went to breakfast. The wifi here is really fast, still I wasn't on my way to breakfast until 6:30am.

I took advantage of almost everything they had to offer for breakfast. Afterwards I checked and found the laundry machines were in use, so laundry would have to wait. Got another day's report posted after breakfast. At 9:15am I was able to start my laundry.

Had a conversation with my wife this morning. It's always brightens my day to talk with her.

At noon I walked next door to Williston Visitor Center. A sign on their door stated they were closed today and tomorrow for Willison's Chokecherry Festival being held at Davison Park. Another posted notice said there would be free hamburgers and chokecherry sundaes there at 5:00pm. Davidson Park is a 40-minute walk from here. I decided I didn't have the time to spare.

With my laundry done, at 12:45pm I took off walking to Lonnie's Roadhouse Cafe, a place recommended to me by the motel clerk last night. It's located just north of Walmart, where I'd be going after lunch. At Lonnie's I had their House Omelet, which is made with four eggs. That filled me up.

One thing I noticed about Williston is, at least in this area, the lack of sidewalks. It wasn't just me walking through gravel areas and weedy areas to get from place to place. I made it over to Walmart, which is a really big store in this town. Once inside I was having problems finding the pharmacy. I asked an associate. She said there are no pharmacies in any Walmarts in the state of North Dakota. This was quite a surprise to me, and of course, nothing I would have ever thought of. I ran out of one of my medications 2 days ago. It may be a couple of weeks before I get to Minnesota, and I don't know if their Walmarts have pharmacies either. Anyway, I think I'll survive.

I had some other shopping to do while I was at Walmart. First I bought a 128GB USB-C memory drive to backup pictures on my phone. Then I shopped for items for my lunch bag. I'd brought my Anton, Colorado, Super's cloth grocery bag with me, which made carrying my purchases back to the motel easy. I probably shouldn't be hauling this bag all the way home, but it was free and it's a nice bag.

It was nearly 4:00pm now, and I was all caught up for the moment with postings to the journal. Now I needed to work on replies to comments received. But I was also in need of a nap, so set my phone alarm to give me an hour for doing that. Then got to work on comment replies until about 8:00pm.

At 8:10pm I took off walking to Applebee's for supper. I had a good meal there to end my day off. On the walk back I stopped at a gas station/convenience store for tomorrow's Gatorade. I was back at the motel at 9:50pm, with plans to be in bed by 11:00pm.

Jeff

Spent: $102.12 plus $5 (motel room) + $5 (laundry) + $15.45 plus $4 (lunch) + $20.39 (USB type C drive) + $17.13 (lunch bag items) + $31.91 plus $7 (supper) + $6.03 (Gatorade) = $214.03

Motel breakfast.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The park area beside the Williston Visitor Center.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A 4-egg omelet.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Today's Walmart purchases.
Heart 1 Comment 0
8 oz. Top Sirloin, Mashed Potatoes, Cole Slaw.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Applebee's Triple Chocolate Meltdown.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0