Day 69 - still near Rochford, SD - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

July 22, 2023

Day 69 - still near Rochford, SD

It's getting hard to type, so I'll keep this short. Not much happened today anyway. Took the day off here at Carsten Cottages.

It was cold last night. I slept with my clothes on and my jacket, and finally had to use my space blanket. I woke up with a cold - mostly a runny nose. Yesterday my RA was affecting the middle of my left hand. This evening it's the middle of my right. But it's not severe.

I got up at 6:13am. Took a shower, started on my laundry, then ate breakfast. Once it was warm enough, I moved from shady area to shady area to work on Day 66 report. Lots of people riding the trail today, which I could see easily from here. I had a pleasant conversation with a trailer-camping couple from Iowa who were getting their bikes ready to ride the trail today.

Lunch for my lunch bag, then took an hour nap in the tent. Back to the report. I did take time out to take a few pictures of this campground. There are lots of farm animals here. There's also a kitchen and dining hall. One unique feature near the pavilion is a platform with benches that has the nearby brook flowing underneath it.

I finally got the entry for Day 66 added to the journal. One day off and one journal entry posted. I've got to figure out a better way to do this.

Ate supper at 5:50pm. I'm headed to the tent now to put my laundry away and get packed up, as much as I can. Back on the trail tomorrow.

Jeff

Spent: $33.15 (campsite) + $2.50 (laundry) = $35.65

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Bathrooms, laundry, and video library building.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Jeanna & Kerry SmithI love potted meat - another thing Kerry leaves the room when I eat! But, I have to tell you, the correct pairing for potted meat is a Saltine. No other cracker provides the optimal salty crunch needed for proper appreciation of this delicacy.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Jeanna & Kerry SmithJeanna,
I'd never even heard of potted meat before I picked up this can. I can see where saltines would help.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0