Day 109 - ending at Marion, MN - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

August 31, 2023

Day 109 - ending at Marion, MN

Day 109 - Zumbrota, MN to Marion, MN
Heart 0 Comment 0

It did get kind of cold last night, but I slept OK in a set of clothes. The tent was very wet this morning, both inside and out. I decided I'd work on reports and let the sun dry out the tent a little before I packed. I got the two-day-old report posted before I left.

The Rochester/Marion KOA campground southeast of Rochester is where I wanted to be this evening. The challenge today would be getting through Rochester.

Of course, my mind was focused on getting breakfast first, and I decided I do that at Bridget's Cafe in Zumbrota. I left at 10:00am for the short trip there. On the way I stopped at Zumbrota's covered bridge. There I met a cyclist who had done a few tours, but now just day cycles. We had a conversation that lasted for a while. After I got going I passed Casey's and went in for Gatorade. Also bought another pack of Skittles and cookies. They have the same deal as Holiday gas stations - three cookies for $2.99. I ended up talking to a Casey's truck driver when I came out. He was quite impressed with what I was doing. I finally made it to Bridget's Cafe at 10:41am. Inside the cafe there was a fellow who was wanting to know about my trip. He was getting ready to leave, so I gave him the journal address, which has more of the story. The fellow was helpful to me, telling me how you get food at the cafe - you go to the counter to place your order. I told the worker at the counter I wanted breakfast food. She said I had 5 minutes to decide before breakfast was no longer available. The menus were at the tables. I went to a table and quickly decided what I'd have and got my order placed in time. Before my food was ready, I received a text from my wife saying our new grandchild was on the way. That's happy news, but it also made me a little sad that I wasn't home yet. I eventually got my mind back to where I was and what I'm doing, and got yesterday's report posted before I left.

I was only a few blocks from the cafe when my noon alarm went off: 0.8 miles. I faithfully followed my pre-planned routing today, not really remembering what roads I was going to be on. Turns out south of Zumbrota, I was on a gravel road to Pine Island. It was very pleasant out today but the wind was from the south, the way I was headed.

I was in Pine Island at 1:34pm. I stopped at Collins Park in town for a pleasant break, sitting on a bench in the shade. There are bike paths from here to the start of Douglas State Trail, which would you get me to Rochester. I was at the trail at 1:58pm. The trail is flat and surrounded by trees, so I'm thinking it's a rail trail. At 2:50pm, I stopped for a cookie break. At 3:32pm I was at the north side of Rochester. My GPS routing had me leave the trail for bike paths heading mostly east. I was beginning to wonder why I routed this way, since there wasn't much scenery.

At 3:50pm I passed a Culver's restaurant that was easy enough to get to. I decided to have an early supper there. I left at 4:35pm, with the majority of today's miles still ahead of me. My routing through Rochester worked out without any traffic concerns. The scenery improved once I got onto bike paths through some of the city parks on the east side of town. Finally, I was at the south side of Rochester. The cyclist I'd talked with this morning told me I'd need to get on restricted access US-52 for about a mile to get to the campground. Otherwise it was several miles south and east and then back north to get to there without using US-52. I took the longer routing. I passed through Simpson at 7:38pm, and went under Interstate I-90 a short time later. That is the main problem for bicyclists to get to this KOA - you need to be on the south side of I-90. The KOA Campground is located on US-52, but where they're at, US-52 is two lanes and not restricted access.

I arrived at the campground at 8:11pm. There was a worker outside the office who told me how to check-in after hours. When I was looking to see which tent site I wanted, a different worker gave me the bathroom code and the wifi password. He also said I could pay in the morning after the office opens. I was all set up at site #63 by 9:15pm. I ate a cookie before I got started on today's evening report.

At 11:00pm, my wife texted me that we now have a second grandson. What great news to finish the day!

Jeff

Spent: $11.57 (Gatorade, cookies, Skittles) + $17.02 plus $4 (breakfast) + $15.02 (supper) + $43.05 (campsite) = $90.66

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 2
Wes AylsworthI told Jeff that in those days (horse and buggy) the $10 fine was pretty steep. That was my opening to our conversation on Thursday. Had a nice discussion of where he had been and where he was going. I told him I had done some touring also. After I started back for home on my bike I wished I had gotten some contact info.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Wes AylsworthWes,
Now that I'm home, I'm finally getting caught up on responding to journal comments. Sorry this is so late. Thanks for signing-up to send me your messages.
I'm so glad I got to meet you at the covered bridge, and even more so that you pulled over the next day. I'm just sorry I didn't get your picture.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Wes AylsworthJust after the McDonalds in Zumbrota when you got on this gravel is my home on the right.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Wes AylsworthWes,
I actually took a picture right after the McDonald's of the road ahead. The fenced-in gas or electrical station was messing up the view I had of what I thought was a well-kept farm, so I used a picture I took later on "up" the road.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Taking a break in Collins Park.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Goats for rent.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Goat at work.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Spotless clean bathroom.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 4,072 miles (6,553 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Nancy GrahamGoats for rent. The first time I ever saw a huge herd of goats was several years ago in Northern California. I was mesmerized by the number of them and later learned about their work! Interesting.

Congrats on your new grandson. I know you would have liked to be there for his arrival, but you will soon be home to hold him, rock him, love him.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Kathleen JonesCongrats, grandpa.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
This was the first time I'd seen goats for hire. The later day picture was where a group of them were stationed in a park.
Thanks. Our new grandson was early, and I was late getting home, but we've met each other now, so all is well.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Thanks! He's so sweet.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago