Day 105 - still at St. Cloud, MN - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

August 27, 2023

Day 105 - still at St. Cloud, MN

I slept in this comfy motel room bed until 6:25am. I figured out how to use the coffee maker, then opened up the container with the piece of pie Joetta had made/given me. This motel room has a mini kitchen on one side, so I was able to use a real coffee mug and a real fork. Oh, what a treat!

By now I had decided that I would stay another night at this motel. I've been waiting this whole trip for a Sunday morning to line up with a day off and where I was cleaned up enough to go to church. Today is the day. I decided I would attend Peace United Church of Christ, which is 2.1 miles away - a 42 minute walk according to Google Maps.

The church service starts at 10:00am, so I figured I'd leave walking around 9:00am. In the meantime I called my wife. We talked for half an hour. Well, she talked mostly, but that was OK. I wanted to hear news on how yesterday's baby shower went for the second grandchild we're expecting. It sounded like a great time, with many thoughtful gifts received.

Just before 9:00am, I checked in at the motel office to pay for tonight's stay. It was a sunny pleasant morning to be out walking. A pleasant day for walking is a great day for bicycling, but I have a backlog of journal pages to write and post this the afternoon.

I arrived at the church early enough to take some pictures and to talk with some folks. Today was Laity Sunday for this church, since the pastor was away. The three members that led the service today were very prepared, and the service moved right along. Afterwards I was invited down to their basement for their fellowship time. I'd eaten four donut holes before I remembered I hadn't taken a picture, so I had to eat another four. This church building was built in 1892. Their basement had flooded recently, but looks great now. One person said the flood was a good thing because they badly needed new carpet down there anyway. I left at 11:28am, after receiving many wishes for a safe trip home.

My next stop was only a few blocks away - Lake George. Lake George looks more like a pond to me, but it's a very pretty pond in a very pretty city park. Joetta pointed out this park as we drove by last night. I walked around the lake on the inner loop. I met one person who wondered why I was wearing work clothes when it looked like I should be retired. When I got around to the northeast corner of the park, I noticed milk crates filled with mostly snack foods set up beside the sidewalk. I asked the person who looked in charge if this food was for sale. I'd noticed a few items that I wouldn't mind eating for lunch. She said no, it's free - part of a mission to help the homeless and those who are hungry. I gave her a donation for the cause. She said, "Go ahead and take some items." So that's what I ate for lunch on a bench in the shade alongside Lake George.

As seems to happen every time I get a day off, I do sightseeing instead of report writing and journal postings. I worked some on the report as I sat there, but it was too tempting to just sit and enjoy the day. So I headed back to my motel room. I went a different way on the way back, walking through the campus of St. Cloud State University, then over the Mississippi River on University Bridge.

I had Day 103 posted by 2:25pm, and Day 104 by 6:15pm. At 6:20pm I walked over to nearby Culver's restaurant for supper. I had what I usually eat for Sunday lunch when I'm at home. Except I made the Single ButterBurger a Double. Then I enjoyed one more gift I'd received from Joetta. Last night she'd given me a Culver's "Free Scoop" coupon.

When I got back to the motel room I started work on today's report - Day 105. I hope to get that posted before I leave tomorrow morning. I should work some also on responding to journal comments received, but it's already 10:45pm, and I'm falling asleep.

Jeff

Spent: $113.94 plus $5 (motel room) + $20 (homeless fund donation) + $15.23 (supper) = $154.17

Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Walking to church.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Mississippi River
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Peace United Church of Christ
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
St. Cloud State University - "Home of the Huskies"
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Culver's "Free Scoop" - Flavor of the Day
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Timothy SwitzerBased on your original plan, I might expect to see you make home on Saturday, September 9. That is the same day (night) we will be getting home from Italy. We will still be following you from across the pond and really look forward to seeing your smilin' face!! :-)
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Timothy SwitzerTim,
Good calculations! You would have been right-on if I hadn't skipped a day off.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago