To Villarreal de San Carlos, Spain - Climbs, Castles, And Cobblestones in Spain And Portugal 2023 - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2023

To Villarreal de San Carlos, Spain

Heart 0 Comment 0

I told Jacinto today would be an easy day, we could sleep in. I set the alarm an entire half hour later! Jacinto ate a two day old hamburger and a pastry. I ate ham, yogurt with granola, and a left over hard boiled egg. It wasn't an exciting breakfast. 

We were rolling at 8:20 - far before my mental start time of 9 AM. We made a half mile detour for ice. Then Jacinto's GPS wanted him to go back to the start of the route, and refused to reroute him. We wandered around unnecessarily before exiting town. His GPS spent the entire day trying to get him to go back, but Jacinto could see the line we were supposed to follow.

We had pleasingly small ups and downs today. I stroked my ego, thinking that my legs were finally in the game. It only took 24 days of riding! Does this mean I really should have done hill climbing at home before we left? 

I stayed close to Jacinto all morning. I stopped at what I thought was the Roman bridge, but it was too soon. ??? I took photos this way, and that way. I called Jacinto, sure he would want to come back. Then I looked at the map. My original thought was correct. The actual Roman bridge was at Mile 15. Heck.

We saw our first no doubt about it touring cyclists this trip. A couple, grinding up the hill towards us. I waved widely, they waved also. But none of us stopped. I regret that. They both had four panniers. We were quickly down, down to the river. One of those giant downhills that you can see the climb out. Ugh. This was the Roman bridge. Jacinto walked his bike down the dirt road to get a view from the bottom. I'm the one who had a flat tire yesterday. I'm not getting on any dirt I don't need to. I started the long climb up. All of the climbs today seemed gentle. Jacinto said that they were. I was enjoying my private fantasy about strong legs.

At mile 25 in Torrejon, we stopped for a cold drink. I've been drinking Fanta for days - just as if I were really a soda pop drinker. The sugar does seem to come in handy as a pick me up. I'm still eating the  dried apricots that Jacinto bought. Today I pulled the package out, and it was already open, apricots went everywhere. No matter. I'm on tour and the three second rule is firmly in place. I picked up all of the apricots, even the ones in the dirt. 

We rode down a twisty turny switchback section. It wasn't terribly steep. The corners were all very clean. That's a concern I have on switchbacks. I don't want to lose control of the front tire in loose sand. I did think of the touring couple, climbing up this. No wonder they didn't stop, they were probably in survival mode.

Today I had us routed to a castle. It is way, way up a hill. Sitting in the AC on the sofa, it was easy to say I would do the 450 foot climb to the castle. Reality, in 98 degree weather, with only three miles between me and more AC? Nah - I'm good. You take plenty of photos and show me later. Jacinto went up to the castle. I went on down the road. I stopped at a view point of the river. A man asked me if I had another bike or if I had been riding this one the whole time. As if I had a follow car, with extra bikes of different styles! 

It was an unpleasant surprise to find another uphill. My water was out. I was down to lonely ice cubes, rattling in my stainless steel bottle. No matter, I was almost there. San Carlos has about three streets. I went to the far street, and there's a tourist information center! I was supposed to check in for the key to the apartment at the bar. Of course, I had passed the bar. Back I went. The bar was closed. I knocked on the door of the adjacent house. The lady was expecting me. She drove over to our apartment, and I followed. She said the bar was closed today, but she had agreed in advance to cook our meals. She gave me the food menu from the bar, and said as soon as she picked up her son from football practice, she would cook for us.

In the meanwhile, I checked in on Jacinto. He had enjoyed riding in the red zone of his computer. Jacinto had only been in the yellow zone before. Red means over 14%. Jacinto had walked up the stairs twice, in bike shoes, to get even more photos. He said there was a shuttle bus from the parking lot. We didn't know that. Jacinto sounded satisfied that he had met the challenge of the climb. When I asked if he wasn't hot, going so slowly uphill, he seemed a little surprised - no he wasn't hot!

Both of our bikes are in the living area. Jacinto took his panniers off anyway. Here we used to complain about unloaded the bikes, and now we are trained to take the panniers off without complaint.

Our landlady is bringing us omelettes later tonight, so we have breakfast in the morning. She seemed surprised that we wanted two omelettes, each with four eggs. Maybe touring cyclists don't stop here often?

Jacinto just made his route for tomorrow. Of course, it takes the back roads. Which is great. But it also has an extra 800 feet of climbing. There I was, happy with my legs today. We shall see how we fare tomorrow. We are following Jacinto's backroad route for the first 24 miles, and then getting on the main road. That saves 400 of the 800 extra feet of climbing. I think it's a good compromise. Tomorrow we are at a Paradore. We want to be able to enjoy ourselves! The last Paradore had the dining room closed for a wedding, and the cafe was closed because it was afternoon. We hope/plan to get there in time to eat at the Paradore. Emphasising that I'm slow but sure. We shall see. 

Today was extra nice riding on quiet roads through the national park. It was yet another recommended day of riding. 

I’ve been carrying a folded chunk of white bath towel on my rear rack for most of the trip. I use it to wipe my chain. The yellow bag holds my street shoes and any overflow that doesn’t fit in my panniers. I had a box of granola for awhile. It did not develop a foot odor taste!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The outline of this gate caught my eye in the morning light.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Rio Tozo as seen from the bridge at mile 12. I thought it was the Roman bridge.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Mile 12 bridge. An every day bridge.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The river under the Roman bridge.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Here is the climb away from the Roman bridge. It was hard to enjoy the downhill, looking up at that climb!
Heart 4 Comment 0
We have had few grade signs. This wasn’t especially steep or long. It is nice to know what’s coming up.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The name of the town is in the hedge behind Jacinto. We sat on the chunks of cardboard on the bench. I think some little old men have their set up just right. Indeed, there was a man waiting in his car around the corner. He had peeked at us a couple of times as we finished our cold drinks.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This birds flew up as I passed by. They swooped in circles round and round as I passed. It made me think of making cotton candy, something I did plenty of in my movie theatre days.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Scott AndersonGriffon vultures, probably. You must be near Monfragüe National Park, a spot famous for them.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Scott AndersonOur apartment here has all sorts of bird photos as decorations. You would like it. We have a couple of vulture shots in the bedroom. That is a first for me! Vultures in the bedroom.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
This is the bridge Francesa, over the river Tajo.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This little lizard was trying to be sneaky and creep in the door.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltMight be a Spanish wall lizard. Good bug eaters!

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/424864-Podarcis-hispanicus/browse_photos

Black beetle is some kind of darkling beetle. Narrowed it down to maybe genus Akis.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/56546-Akis
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Kelly IniguezI was wondering if he was after the bug, and not wanting to come inside. I was standing right in front of him. I had time to get my phone out and take a photo. When we got in our apartment, there was a salamander climbing on the wall. Now that I think about taking a photo of it, I don't see it any more.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jacinto rode his bike right to the steps of the castle! .8 miles and 435 feet of climbing. That his the first time his GPS has gone into the red zone on a climb. That means 14% or more!
Heart 5 Comment 0
The view of the bridge francesa from the castle.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking out of the castle.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Entering the castle.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 962 miles (1,548 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0