To Jarandilla de La Vera, Spain - Climbs, Castles, And Cobblestones in Spain And Portugal 2023 - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2023

To Jarandilla de La Vera, Spain

If you are interested in this route, it would be worth considering the extra climbing on CC-42 to stay off of the main road an extra eight miles. Traffic was polite on the EX road, but heavier than we are accustomed to.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Is having one giant pillow on the bed a way to learn to get along in your marriage? I like having both ends of my pillow to myself. I slept well until 3 AM, then I kept waking up wondering what time it was. The AC sounded like the wind blowing and I had visions of fighting the wind during the day. Happily that bad dream didn't occur.

I had the alarm set for 6 AM. We heated our omelettes in the microwave. Mine was a little runny in the center. It was forced eating, for the climb today. We were out the door at 8 AM. The forecast for today was cloudy and highs in the 80's. That seems  odd to be so cool, I wondered if it was an error. But, I was hoping the forecast was correct.

We started out climbing along the park. I saw two deer right away, and a little bunny. We haven't seen any wildlife the entire trip. Perhaps the cooler temps are keeping animals out longer in the morning? Jacinto saw a coyote, two different deer, and I saw an attractive buck. The national park was quiet this morning. It is a no lines kind of road. It was 45 minutes before a vehicle passed me. Total, we had four cars in the first 13 miles. Then we crossed over the main highway for another 11 miles of back road riding. Here was the part where we negotiated. I was willing to ride some extra climbing, but not all of Jacinto's route. At mile 24, we got on the EX road. The main road our entire trip has been pleasant riding and traffic free. Today was not one of those days. We were in the mountains, so there were frequent guard rails, forcing us into the driving lane. There was also another road crew, weed whacking. There were all sorts of plant debris in our cycling area. Wild blackberries are common along here. I'm quite sure a blackberry thorn is what I picked up the other day that gave me a flat. We had a number of semi trucks pass us. Several were carrying loads of chickens. 

Today was green with water and plants the entire day. Once we left the national park, there were irrigated fields and orchards all along the route. It was a visual relief to see a change from the dry, dry plains. 

We spent far too much time in Jaraiz de la Vera looking for a grocery store. After back tracking, we found a Dia store. Jacinto went inside, but came out quickly, saying that the check out line was too long to wait. We ended up at a little local store for our cold drink and ice. At this point we had 11 miles left. I would have been fine without ice, but Jacinto has been such a sport this trip, being my navigator, and getting up early. If ice is what he wanted, I would wait. It's not like I'm not an ice user myself!

Jacinto tried to tell me the last miles were downhill, but I knew better. Today was routed to be 3,500 feet of climbing. Strava gave Jacinto 3,300 - RWGPS has regularly been far lower in elevation. I think it's all of the cutouts in the roadway and the cliffs. Although Strava would be dealing with the same thing. Today along the park, we had several mild 3% climbs. All of those switchbacks you see are gently graded. For me, there was one area, at mile 21, where the grade was steep and I was doubting how my day would go. Fortunately, all other grades today were reasonable.

After we got ice and a drink, Jacinto took off. This is where we saw the road crews. I just knew I was going to get another flat. I kept watching for Jacinto, clear into Jarandilla, I didn't see him. Finally, there he was waiting, by the river - la garganta de Jarandilla. He made special note of how clear the river is running and that someone has built a little dam to make a swimming pool. 

We had no trouble finding the castle. I was surprised not to see it on the top of a hill in town. I kept looking for a castle in the distance. No - there it was, right downtown. It's an easy finish for my legs! That was almost a disappointment, to not have to drop into the granny gear at the end.

We checked in, walking our bikes back down the cobblestone driveway to a garden shed. After showering, we ate our most expensive meal of the trip. We agreed that we should have gone to one of the convenient restaurants near the Paradore. We hadn't even considered it at the time. Our food was fine, but not worth the money. Jacinto said the best part was the bread. We both had some sort of steak. We ordered a salad to share. We are full, but it always feels better to buy an expensive meal when the flavor is worth the price. I have left over steak. We have some leftover omelette from this morning. If we get hungry later, we can have a snack.

Tomorrow's ride will be similar to today, with plenty of mountain climbing. We are going to eat the breakfast here. The last Paradore breakfast we ate was tasty, if expensive.

Ready to leave San Carlos.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This handsome buck crossed the road right in front of me.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Here’s where I wish for a real camera. There were vultures catching the sun all along the top rocks.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesTry a Lumix with 40 x zoom!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
This sign says watch out for aggressive cattle. The one field we saw that had cows, they were all taking their morning nap.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Figs? I saw GIANT, wild fig trees in several areas.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Arriving at the Paradore. It does feel impressive.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Bikes go back down the cobblestone driveway we just rode up, locked in a garden shed.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Our early morning view. It was worth riding the extra miles through the park. We had the place to ourselves.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Jacinto saw a coyote, and a couple of deer. correction to fox - thank you, Bill!
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltProbably a fox. The only other similar species in Spain is the gray wolf, which is highly unlikely according to wiki distribution map.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_fox

Coyotes are north/central American

https://forestupdate.frec.vt.edu/content/dam/forestupdate_frec_vt_edu/newsletter/archives/2021/Parkhurst.pdf
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Bill ShaneyfeltLooking at it on a big screen, I see a red coat. I never thought about coyotes being a western USA animal. That’s interesting.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Arriving in Jarandilla , this pool was so clear you could see the bottom.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Cathy Burkesthat looks tempting
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
The view from a second story porthole at the Paradore.
Heart 7 Comment 2
marcela ..I LOVE this photo
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo marcela ..I agree! That and an aqueduct photos are my two favorites of the trip.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 1,005 miles (1,617 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0