To Ledesma, Spain - Climbs, Castles, And Cobblestones in Spain And Portugal 2023 - CycleBlaze

June 22, 2023

To Ledesma, Spain

Heart 0 Comment 0

I slept well in our deluxe room with my own pillow. Look at me be pampered - I'm still traumatized over having to share a single giant queen size pillow! We went down to the breakfast buffet. After we had eaten several rounds of yogurt and meat/cheese, Jacinto asked the attendant if they didn't have eggs. Yes. She picked up the sign on our table, "Eggs made to order". Ooops. I wasn't too hungry at this point, but ordered eggs and bacon anyway. The bacon looked like American bacon, but tasted more like Canadian bacon. I was really hoping for apples and bananas, to carry, but there was the typical melon and pineapple. I think the muesli here doesn't fit my expectations. This is an upscale hotel, with very nice everything. The muesli is 95% plain oatmeal, with a very little bit of fruit in it. I should have gone for that one pound bag of granola back at the CicloLodge. Live and learn. This has definitely been a learning tour!

We have had mild temperatures, but they are going up quickly. Jacinto keeps saying that we are climbing into the mountains, temperatures should stay moderate, but he is not correct. I mentioned several times that today was a climbing day and I really wanted to beat the heat. It was 9:44 when we rolled out. Here's amazing news - we did not get lost this morning while leaving town! We were following Jaicnto's GPS. I told him not to lose me, as I hadn't changed my route to match his. We got to a pair of round abouts. Which direction did he go? I could not see any lights at all. I needed to read the signs and make decisions. Traffic had been light, but of course right then I had a polite car behind me waiting for me to make a choice. Happily, I went the correct direction and saw Jacinto's light in the distance. Here's a plug for the Cygolite 350 tail light. It's visible for a LONG distance, and is fairly inexpensive.

We started out riding on the plains. I thought it was humid, as I was sweating, but not really working on the flats. Soon enough we started to get into the foothills and see some trees. We rode through a couple of small towns. 

When we toured through Michigan in 2021, we bicycled through Green Bay. I fussed and stewed about crossing that city for days. When the time came, the city was deserted. I contacted a friend and asked if there had been a new COVID lockdown we hadn't heard of. It was so odd to see such a large city with no traffic. Dorothy laughed at me and said the college was on break, and Green Bay was a college town. Lucky us to arrive there when it was quiet. That is kind of how I feel about Spain. This is our seventh day riding. Where are the people? Where are the cars? They cycling has been excellent - the traffic that does pass us is polite. Occasionally we are entering town, and I expect cars. Where are they? When we ride through the little towns, where are the people? It's odd.

We had some extended, but easy climbs today. Jacinto tested his knee more and more. He was gleeful in telling me how good he (and his knee, and his butt) feels. 

We got to town about 2 PM. Our lodging tonight is the Hotel Rural Local. It's also a restaurant. Jacinto went in to register. The men at a patio table spent quite a bit of time checking out Jacinto's bike. It has a Rohloff hub. They had to puzzle that one out - they could see the cables for the shifter, but weren't familiar with a grip shifter. I have to admit I enjoyed listening to their conversation and didn't break in to tell them what they were figuring out on their own.

We are on the second floor, which is really the third floor. Our room is appears freshly remodeled, with a very nice bathroom. Unfortunately, the AC makes lots of noise, but doesn't blow air. Jacinto went back down and told them. The result is that we have a little fan that isn't good for much. The setting sun is shining on our terrace. We are hoping it will be cooler as the sun sets at 10 PM. ! ! !

We had researched food before arriving, and had picked a restaurant. We ordered the menu' del dia. We both had rice with octopus for a primero. I gave Jacinto all of the 'good' stuff (the octopus). For segundos, we both had the grilled fish. Amazingly, it came with a side salad instead of patatas. I think this is the first meal I've eaten without patatas. We had some sort of nut ice cream for dessert that was tasty.

Jacinto couldn't find his credit card to pay, and had to pay cash. 26E. He had forgotten his card on the counter at the hotel when he paid. Whew. 

We went back to our hot room. I took a nap. I could hear myself snoring! Jacinto said he didn't know how I slept in this heat. We are supposed to walk up to the fort, but we are waiting for it to cool off. Right now we are going downstairs for tapas. Our lunch is gone.

We crossed the Camino several times and for the first time saw hikers with backpacks. The German cyclist yesterday said he tried cycling the camino, but it was too soft of a surface for his 2" tires, and also there were too many hikers. He got on the road. We see the bright yellow sun marker that signifies the camino in quite a few places.

Today was a good riding day. I think perhaps my favorite of the trip. Every day has been a good day. We have friends cycling in northern Spain, they are getting wet.

Later - We ate so early that we wanted tapas later. Except here at the bar they had the same tapas they had when we arrived at 2 PM. We walked around our area, but didn't see any restaurants open. We went back in and ended up in the restaurant instead of the bar. I ordered grilled veggies and Jacinto got a menu' del dia (I thought that was only lunch?). We ended up eating far too much food, far too late at night. It's 10 PM and we just ate. The sun isn't even down yet! No wonder Spaniards stay up so late. The restaurant is open for coffee at 8 AM, food at 9 AM. We missed getting anything at the fruitirea. It was open when we arrived, closed when we got back from lunch, and never opened again this evening. I like a daily apple while riding, but that's been hard to accomplish this trip. It is also difficult to clean my chain every day when I don't have my bike with me. We'll figure it out.

Getting ready outside of the fancy hotel. They were just fine about having two bicycle riders as clients.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The church we could see from our room.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The front door of the church in the morning shadows.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Storks in a steeple! Jacinto laughs at my pleasure in the sight. We don’t have storks in steeples in Colorado!
Heart 6 Comment 3
Scott AndersonThis is Zamora, right? We saw more storks in Zamora than any place else we’ve ever been.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Scott Andersonthis was in one of the little towns in-between today. I didn't make a note which one. Every little town had storks, but some of the steeples were so tall that a cell phone can't zoom in enough to get a good photo.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Rachael AndersonI love storks!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Storks on a water tower!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking back down a long climb. Today we got into the foothills.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jacinto waited for me at the plaza in Peñausende. We ate enough plums from this tree for me to worry about digestive issues!
Heart 2 Comment 1
I think this is a harvested cork tree. There weren’t any examples close to the road. We should see more later.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The ruins of Castillo Del Asmesnal.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Cattle against the skyline.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I think this bridge looks medieval, but could find no information on it. Jacinto was so happy going downhill, he didn’t even notice it looked special!
Heart 3 Comment 2
Cathy Burkesdid you have to solve the riddle to cross? is that the Billy goats Gruff? Thats what this bridge reminds me of
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Cathy BurkesI have thought of the big bad wolf this trip. He couldn’t blow any of these houses down. Although we do see falling down houses. I haven’t thought of the billy
Goat gruff in years!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
This is the new bridge going into Ledesma. Google would not tell me how old it is, but only wrote about the two Roman bridges in the area. Edit - John Riley's sleuthing shows that the new bridge was started in 1934 and finished in 1954.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The old Roman bridge into Ledesma. There is another smaller Roman bridge that’s on a hiking, the Mocho bridge.
Heart 6 Comment 0
A tenacious poppy in a wall.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Our bicycles are stored in an unused stairwell at the lodging in Ledesma.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The view of the Tormes River from the new bridge going into Ledesma.
Heart 4 Comment 0
My easily entertained photo for today - the toilet paper holder.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Our 58E room is great, except for. I working AC. They brought us an anemic fan instead.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 246 miles (396 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Scott AndersonI can’t tell you how much it pleases me to see how well this is going for you!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Scott AndersonIt's going so well because you made us such a great route! How could you pick ALL of these roads with no cars?

Of course, I just wrote that big piece in the journal about lack of cars and people and tomorrow we ride a frontage road for almost 20 miles into Ciudad Rodrigo. There isn't another choice. then we head to La Alberca - back to the quiet roads.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Kelly IniguezI’ll bet your frontage road is really quiet too. It’s the old highway that was replaced by the A-20. Our experience with roads like this in central Spain is that they feel like a four lane wide bike path.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Rachael AndersonI’m so glad to hear Jacinto’s doing better and how well things are working out!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Scott AndersonStandby by for the real life update!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Rachael AndersonHe has a whole different approach than I do. The day to La Alberta, there are three possibilities. One has 6,000 feet of climbing, one 4,000, and our route has 2,400. Now he is hoping to take a long route to enjoy himself. I think he paid attention when I pointed out moderation is valuable with a freshly recovered knee. We shall see!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
George HallIt's not fun having no air conditioning at night- hopefully that will improve. Your issues with finding food and having no A/C have made this trip challenging in unexpected ways - but it sounds like the riding itself has been very good!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago