Segovia rest day - Climbs, Castles, And Cobblestones in Spain And Portugal 2023 - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2023

Segovia rest day

Again, I have plenty of photos to load, but can't get even one. Maybe tomorrow.

I could hardly keep my eyes open last night, I was asleep by 9:30, but awake again at 1 PM for several hours. I didn't think that mattered as it was a day off and the only thing on the schedule was breakfast and our 11:30 tour.

The joke was on me - I woke up at 10 AM, and all the sudden we were in a rush! The breakfast buffet finished at 10:30. We rushed right down. We presume the crowd in there was from the two weddings yesterday. The majority of women were slim and elegantly dressed. I noted that they were eating butter croissants and coffee. Are croissants the secret to being  waft like? Who would think?

Their yogurt was the overly sweet American style. They did have a tortilla (baked egg and potato dish). The man in front of me took a little corner. I cut a slab! Jacinto was happy to have two coffees. He has not complained at all about the quality of the coffee, only the quantity, and he's afraid of the delicate little cups.

We dashed back to the room. I debated between a short sleeve black (doesn't show dirt, but I might get burned), and a long sleeve blue shirt. I went with the long sleeves. 

The San Antonio Hotel is on a hill. The aqueduct starts perhaps a block away, and is single story. As it progressed downhill, it got larger and large. Following the aqueduct was an entertaining way to walk. We were soon at the plaza, and saw a man holding a yellow flag. Our stickers to put on our clothes were yellow. We joined his group, listened to his aqueduct talk, and started walking down a side street. Then he noticed our stickers, and said we were with the wrong group. We went back. The woman leading our group handed out headsets to better hear her with. Her Spanish was rapid fire, and my hearing was not. I understood perhaps 10% of the tour. Later when I asked Jacinto clarifying questions, he could answer only a few. 

I was expecting a bus tour, we we ride to a destination, and then get out and tour. Instead, we walked all around the city, ended up at the Alcazar, with a tour inside. Then she collected the headsets and said have a good day. I thought I missed an instruction about getting back to the start. No! We were finished. It was all downhill to the Alcazar, and all uphill on the way back. We stopped for a paleta (popsicle). That was the best part of my morning.

By the time we got back to the room, we had been walking for five hours. I was exhausted! I took a shower and collapsed on the bed. We had purposefully not eaten, as neither of us was really hungry, but we didn't want to wait until 8 PM either. We thought since this was a tourist town, something would be open. We have now firmly learned that lesson! We went back and walked around. About 50% of the cafes were open, but had coffee and bread only. We ended up at Burger King! It has been years and years since I've eaten at a Burger King. Service was slow, but the fries did come with salt and ketchup - two items that we miss having with the patatas served here.

Now we are back in the room. I've had my third shower of the day. I don't have enough clothing for that much sweating!

Jacinto is doing the figuring right now on how early we need to leave to get to town in time for the menu' el dia meal. 

Tomorrow is 56 miles, 1,500 feet of climbing. It should be nice to get some distance in, and not too much work. Jacinto says his knee is good, and his rear end is tolerating the abuse. He's happy to be riding. We had discussed Segovia as a bail out point if his knee were too bad. Jacinto might not be standing up, but at least he is rolling!

Photos when I can - there's so much history here!

Our bedroom at the San Antonio.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jacinto was amused we had a handicap bar, but it was necessary to hold onto it with the slope of the tub.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hmmm. How do you flush that toilet? The big gray buttons on the wall. Note that we also have a bidet!
Heart 1 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonYou’re likely to see bidets in most of your lodging.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
At the aqueduct.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonGreat photo!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
I like the shadows here.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The aqueduct has 167 arches.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Scott AndersonSuch an amazing structure. My favorite aquaduct anywhere. It’s hard to believe it was built without mortar and is still standing after almost 2,000 years.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
I don’t remember the names, but this wall was built to discourage an unwanted suitor for the daughter of the house.
Heart 4 Comment 0
My door of the day.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Detail from the top right of the door.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The cathedral.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Alcazar (fort), was my favorite part of the walking tour.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Horses and armor.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The armor was so heavy that boys practiced wear it as they grew up. We saw several sizes.
Heart 2 Comment 0
In the Alcazar.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A view from the Alcazar.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The best part of the day was my lime popsicle. I was toasty!
Heart 5 Comment 0
This reminded me of Egypt.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Detail.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Suzanne GibsonHaha, we have eaten at a Burger King in Spain for the same reasons.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Suzanne GibsonI don't feel quite so bad now! Jacinto called ahead to our lodging tonight to ask very specifically if their attached restaurant serves food all the time. Who would think that's a question you need to ask?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Rachael AndersonWhat a great day! Sorry you had so much walking.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Genny Fox
I am so happy to see that the historical structures are being taken care of - that is so admirable. Something like the aqueduct in the US would be covered with graffiti.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago