Dunedin: warm and dry at last... - Gone Fishin' - CycleBlaze

November 15, 2012

Dunedin: warm and dry at last...

Distance: 58 kms. Ride Time: 4:04 hours.

The overnight forecast didn’t look promising, and rain was falling steadily as I went to bed. And it was still falling this morning, but eased as I set off to find breakfast.

Once on the road, I made good progress, aided by a following wind and once again by the wind blast from innumerable heavy vehicles.  At Waihola, I stopped for a coffee and snack. Soon after rain began to fall heavily. Now I was swamped in spray from the heavy vehicles.

After another brief stop at East Taieri on the outskirts of Dunedin, I left SH1 where it became a motorway, and took the painfully circuitous (but signposted) bicycle route, which links back streets and cycle ways to eventually find a way over the hills and into the Dunedin CBD.

So here I am, back where I started nearly a month ago, and in a couple of days I’ll be heading for home.

Today's ride: 58 km (36 miles)
Total: 1,189 km (738 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0