Tourist time: Dunedin... - Gone Fishin' - CycleBlaze

November 16, 2012

Tourist time: Dunedin...

My plan was to spend Friday cycling around the Otago Peninsula, but the throat irritation I've noticed over the past couple of days has developed into a chest cold. So I booked a cheap rental car for a couple of days to do some sightseeing and to get my luggage to the airport.

After a leisurely breakfast I picked up the car, then headed north out of the city, along the route that cyclists are required to take. Have to say I was pleased not to be cycling, as the route climbed high above city, giving spectacular views over Otago Harbour.

I visited several picturesque coastal towns, finally stopping at Moeraki for lunch and to see the boulders. Only in New Zealand could a cluster of boulders on the beach be marketed as a tourist attraction. They are actually quite remarkable boulders, but boulders nonetheless.

Returning to Dunedin I spent a couple of hours disassembling, cleaning and packing the bike, and cleaning my camping gear ready for the trip home and likely inspections by Quarantine. Packing done I wandered off to the Octagon and found a nice place for dinner.

Next morning I returned to what had become my favourite breakfast cafe, then set off to drive around the Otago Peninsula. I took the high road on the way out and once again was glad not be cycling up the steep slopes. Being a Saturday there were plenty of bikes along the route, and it's obviously a popular ride.

After more spectacular views over the harbour, the route descended to the waterside and wound its way along the peninsula. Here the road was dead flat, and there were a great many more cyclists - it must be the only flat ride of any reasonable distance in Dunedin.

I spent a couple of pleasant hours driving out to the Royal Albatross sanctuary at the tip of the peninsula and back via Portobello, stopping for coffee along the way.

Yep - it's a boulder alright...

They breed 'em here...

Bugger! - my boulder broke...

The harbour and Otago Peninsula...

And from the other side - high on the Otago Peninsula...


Baldwin Street - claimed as the world's steepest residential street...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0