Four Friendly Caveats - GOING UP! The Gulf of Mexico to Lake Superior - CycleBlaze

Four Friendly Caveats

  1. As usual, this blog will provide no stories of remote wilderness adventures, no philosophical revelations, nor any insight whatsoever into which bicycle components/accessories work best for touring.
  2. My equipment list would impress nobody, therefore I decided not to enter a page dedicated to gear.  It will be pretty much the same as it was in my MN to MA trip last year, so if you're interested, please consult that document.
  3. Photography is not my forte'.  I do not carry a camera with me when touring other than the one built into my phone.  It could be argued that I am a lousy photographer BECAUSE I don't carry a quality camera, but I think it's more accurate to say that I don't carry a quality camera because I am a lousy photographer.  I have no sense of timing, no knowledge of lighting and shading, and no ability to recognize a great photo opportunity.  Angles?  What angles?  I take pictures from straight on.  When I DO see something picture-worthy, my phone always seems to be packed away.  Worst of all, I seem to have a serious aversion to stopping my bike while I'm on a roll and it would take something incredibly extraordinary for me to actually turn around to get a photo of something I had already passed.  Further, more often than not, when I do stop to take a picture of something I think is interesting or quirky, the result tends to be very disappointing.  Therefore, I can safely say most of the pictures you'll see in this journal will probably be a) taken while on a break or at the end of the day, b) for my own amusement, and c) of poor quality.
  4. I have some flaws in my character.  One of them is my inability to take anything very seriously--especially myself.  The stuff I write tends to be, for lack of a better word, goofy.  My jokes are dumb, I make bold statements on subjects I know nothing about, and you will quickly notice that I sometimes contradict myself.  I try not to be too sarcastic but I don't always succeed.  Also, I am hopelessly immature and very self-centered.  (If you don't believe me on that last point, wait until you see how many times I use the word "I" in this journal.)  At least I have enough self-awareness to recognize my flaws.  I am hoping you are able to overlook my shortcomings and accept me for the lovable buffoon I am.  If you are, by all means, please follow along with me on my quest for fun and frivolity.
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonLovable buffoon! Too great. Looking forward to following along.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Gregory GarceauThank you.

Hey, I knew you were getting very close to leaving Taiwan but I didn't realize you were home yet. Congratulations on a most excellent five months of touring and blogging. I hope you get settled in quickly so you can finish up the journal. I might have a couple of comments and another congratulatory note for you.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago