A Journal-Picayune - GOING UP! The Gulf of Mexico to Lake Superior - CycleBlaze

A Journal-Picayune

I last visited New Orleans on a business trip about 20 years ago and I loved it.  I was impressed by the downtown area and by the French Quarter.  The city seemed so European, so exotic.  Each morning, I read the city's primary newspaper which had the most unusual name:  The New Orleans Times-Picayune.  That name was so much more attention-grabbing than regular newspaper names like Herald, Chronicle, Tribune, Examiner, or Post.  

Being that I'm not the smartest guy in the world, I had to get a dictionary and look up the definition of the word "picayune."  I learned it means "frivolous," "trivial," or "of minimal importance."  YES!  That perfectly describes everything I have ever written:  "Of minimal importance."  And this journal, too, will be nothing if not frivolous.  It will be my own Journal-Picayune and I will be the ace reporter as well as the editor-in-chief.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0