Cyclist and Bike - Going Rogue 2020 - CycleBlaze

Cyclist and Bike

The tour ended the day before my 59th birthday. I started the tour weighing 183 pounds (83 kg) which is the lightest I've been in 8 years.

None of the days of this tour are extremely difficult. That allowed me to do the 9 day tour with no zero-mile rest days.

The bike is a 2007 Bacchetta Giro 20 short wheelbase recumbent. Euro-Mesh seat with a Ventisit seat pad. 40mm wide Schwalbe Marathon Racer tires. Terracycle underseat rack and well-worn Arkel RT-40 underseat panniers. I can reach inside the bags while seated on the bike. Gearing is very low with a 24T chainring and 34T cog driving a 26-inch rear wheel.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Things I didn't carry

Headlight. With usable light from 6 AM until 9 PM, no lights are needed.
4th bottle cage and bottle. Daily distance, climbing, and temperatures are low enough that 3 bottles will be sufficient.

Things I did carry

Full rain gear, including gloves and booties. Day 3 was very wet.
Fenders, as usual.
Mask, for the first time.
Canon G7X camera which I didn't use. Every photo was taken with my Samsung Galaxy S10e smart phone. An opportunity to save nearly a pound of weight...
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0