Chidlow to Northam - Go East old man... - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2014

Chidlow to Northam

Can I teach these old bones new tricks?

It rained a bit during the night, so got up to a wet camp in the morning. It always takes me time to get organised and into good routines when I start out traveling - car, foot or bike. First night was true to form. I had all 5 bags unpacked and strewn everywhere inside my wee tent. I've got to get better at this.

Finally got it all packed up and started cycling by about 9 am. If you ever head out on the Kep Track, the surface is pretty good to about Wooraloo, but gets pretty mushy from there to Clackline. In parts I was down to walking pace and working hard to stay upright. On good bits I'd get up to 15 kph for short stretches. On a fully loaded bike it would get pretty squirrly pretty quickly if I hit a gravelly patch. So it was a slow slog for most of the ride. I took to the parallel country roads when I had enough of the slow going in the gravel.

Sure is pretty out here at this time of year.

About 15 km out of Northam the track is washed out and not really ridable, so it was onto the dreaded Great Eastern Hiway. Lots of traffic going very fast, very close. Hopefully that's the last of that road. From Northam it's back roads all the way to Hyden.

Made about 50 km today. Staying with relatives tonight in Northam (thanks Di and Rob!!)

Off to Quairading tomorrow. It's about 100 km, so I should get there in two days.

Slowly, slowly
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0