50 Km down the road... - Go East old man... - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2014

50 Km down the road...

I think its going to take me a while to get this body accustomed to the rigours of touring. I want to go fast, the mind is willing but the body is weak. Patience is required, slow and steady.

Touring in Australia is a solitary activity. I bypassed York and as a result spent the day lost in my own thoughts; never spoke to anyone, never passed a single shop or public amenity, not even a picnic table. Luckily I carried enough water for two days, anticipating I wouldn't find any en route.

Spending the night stealth camping about 100 meters from the road. I'm protected by a hoard of nasty/hungry blood sucking mozzies, so should sleep soundly. Getting packed up in the morning will require the donation of a litre of blood though.

Next morning, about 5 km down the track I made breakfast at a locked and forgotten roadside church - could have easily camped behind here. No mozzies either... It's about half way between York and Quairading.

Brekkie stop
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0