French Fries and Chain Lube - The Girl Friday Rides Again - CycleBlaze

December 29, 2010

French Fries and Chain Lube

I forgot my chain lube, which wouldn't have been a problem except my bike got all wet today. Anyone who knows me will tell you I'm not obsessive about keeping my bike clean, far from it, but I didn't like that squeaky sound for the last hour of the ride. I'm not sure I could take it for 3 more days! So I sent a TXT to Vinny--Vinny is the Girl Friday's pediatrician...

My TXT: "Forgot my chain lube. Rode through rain.....squeaky! What can I use for temp fix? What about motor oil?"
Vinny's TXT: "That will work in a pinch. Don't put too much on and dry it off as best as possible. Use synthetic."
My TXT: "OK. Any other product I can get at 7-11 or gas station. What about WD40?"
Vinny's TXT: "Don't use wd40 only as last resort. They will probably have some 3 in 1 oil...cooking oil should help too."
My TXT: "Cooking oil? That's easier. There is a Chinese place near the hotel. Should it be low in saturated fats? Don't want the Girl to be unhealthy."
Vinny's TXT: "If you have to rub a French Fry on the chain ;-)"

So that's what I did...well, not the french fry, the cooking oil I mean. Although, between the Chinese cook, the Spanish speaking waitress and my explanation that I wanted a small amount of vegetable oil in a paper cup for my bike, it wasn't easy; and that was with the help of a bilingual (English/Spanish) customer to translate.

My TXT: "I got the vegetable oil! Can I write about this txt exchange in my journal?"
Vinny's TXT: "Sure, as long as you make me sound intelligent."
My TXT: "I'm not a miracle worker!"

But miracle worker or not, do you know what this means!? If this works I can combine my chain maintenance needs with my cooking needs, thus eliminating one item I need to carry! Man, who knew cooking oil had so many talents?

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Mike AylingThe late Sheldon Brown once wrote that even bear fat would work as a chain lube in a pinch!

Mike
Reply to this comment
3 years ago