Day 2 - The Girl Friday Rides Again - CycleBlaze

December 21, 2010

Day 2

If I've said it once I've said it a lotta times; You can never tell what is going to happen on a bike trip. The weather forecast was for cloudy skies with possible showers. Ho-hum. Me, I'm not a cloudy kinda gal, I like the sun and feel better when it's out, so I figured, "I'll make the best of it...". But as it happened today was a really fun day!

It started as I was rolling out of the campground when I got behind a little group of young girls on bikes. Then Trevor pulled up and struck up a conversation. Turns out this group was riding to El Centro too, same as me. It was a boy scout group who also allowed "sisters" to ride. I thought it was very cool to involve the girls too. And they were good riders. On one hill one of the girls was drafting, sitting behind me on my wheel, but it was a crosswind.

"Move over here on my left," I told her, which she did and noticed it was a lot easier. After that we turned a corner... "Which way is the wind coming from now?" I asked her. "The front," she said. "OK, so move behind me again," She picked it right up and even learned what an echelon is! "Have you ever ridden in the Tour de France?" She asked me. I had to explain the ins and outs of why I never competed in the Tour de France. :-)

Not only that, they invited me to lunch of sandwiches and Fritos! If you have read my journals in the past you KNOW I like Fritos when I ride. Thanks Trevor, Becka and the rest of the group!

Other than that, the skies were mostly cloudy but kind of cool to, in a dramatic sort of way. There were a few raindrops but not any rain to speak up, I didn't even bother with my rain jacket. And the winds were mostly great, with mostly tail and cross-tail winds.

So, all in all it was a good day. Tomorrow I keep on keep'in on. Until then

This morning's breakfast. I wonder what made me think this would be good to eat?
Heart 1 Comment 0
The windsock at the Agua Caliente landing strip. And I was heading to the right! :-D
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some of the young girls in the group I rode with
Heart 1 Comment 0
This skies were dramatic at times!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some of the other riders nearing the top of a climb
Heart 1 Comment 0
The lighting wasn't great for pictures but this is kind of cool. If you look close you can see riders coming up on the left side of the road down below.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Oh, and you think I could pass this little gem without taking a picture? I think not!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Near El Centro. Looks like the future makings of a Caesar Salad?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Whoa, the Girl Friday was a MESS today
Heart 0 Comment 1
Mike AylingMudguards/fenders do make quite a difference!

Mike
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 102 miles (164 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0