Improvisation - The Girl Friday Rides Again - CycleBlaze

December 16, 2010

Improvisation

I don't know what I'm doing. Okay, I KNOW what I'm doing I just don't know WHAT I'm doing. You see, I have a basic plan, to Amtrak/ride the Girl Friday to San Diego, and then ride around San Diego for a while and THEN ride all the way to Phoenix. But if the weather is crappy or I'm out of touring shape, than I can always hop on a train, or a bus for sections....in other words I'll improvise.

I'm really looking forward to riding through the desert, what with the weather where I live cold, rainy and generally crappy. In fact, I was just going to start my journal when I started to ride east from San Diego, which would have been after Christmas. I wasn't sure I wanted to write about places that I wrote about before in last year's journal, "The Adventures Of The Girl Friday." But then some of my friends pointed out that just because some of the roads/places are the same does NOT mean the trip is the same, and after some thought I decided they are right.

Besides, what if something really cool, or interesting, or fantastic happens!? What if I have a great day, eat an awesome cheeseburger, have a 40 mile an hour tail wind or get a great picture of a unicorn!? I have to have a place to share all that, right?

Or worse, what if I have a really bad day? Forget about the fact I will be riding on Amtrak, which always carries the potential for a wild and wacky, head scratching, story; the forecast next week calls for rain, what if I have a day of cold, wet, misery? What if I'm totally out of shape from the summer and suffer like a dog? Without a journal how can I commiserate my suffering? Who will know? More importantly, who will care!?

So, I'll start my journal on day one and hope for the best from Northern California all the way to Phoenix. I haven't had much time to think about the trip but now that the time is drawing near it's time to party!

See ya soon, for MORE adventures of the Girl Friday--when The Girl Friday Rides Again.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0