SPOT-less: When Voluntary is anything but... - The Adventures of The Girl Friday - CycleBlaze

December 18, 2009

SPOT-less: When Voluntary is anything but...

My SPOT has been recalled! Of course I didn't find that out until I went to activate the device online...

They say the recall is "Voluntary" but it didn't seem that way. My phone conversation with the SPOT guy went something like this...

SPOT guy: "...there is nothing wrong with the signal, it's the "battery operation on some of the devices that don't meet specifications."
Me: "Can I activate the one I have anyway, and send it back after my trip?"
SPOT guy: "No, you will not be able to activate it."
Me. "So how is that a voluntary recall then? Without the subscription it is not usable?"

After that he seemed to go back to his set script, that it was not the signal but the battery, so I persisted.

Me: "Well, it's working now, I'm getting a strong signal. I would like to take it on my trip; I can remove the batteries and only put them in for when I want to send a signal; that way the battery pack will be less likely to fail. And, I won't hold you responsible, I understand there is a problem and if it works, it works, if not, ok. I'll send it back after my trip..."
SPOT guy: "If you want to do that it's ok, and send it later."
Me: "So I can activate it then?"
SPOT guy: "No."

So much for voluntary...

I guess I'll have to tour the old fashion way, with only my cell phone and WIFI capable Acer Aspire One (sigh).

On the bright side, I got to take another trip to the gun store to return my purchase. The manager was really nice though and even called the SPOT people to inquire about replacements on my behalf. While I waited, I checked out the fishing side of the store, it had some interesting items as well, but that story will have to wait until another day...

Karen (and the Girl Friday)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0