Day 8: Bike touring--never predictable - The Adventures of The Girl Friday - CycleBlaze

December 28, 2009

Day 8: Bike touring--never predictable

The thing I like about bike touring is that every day is an adventure. You never know what the day will bring. You can't control the weather, the headwinds, the hills, the road quality... So, you just go with it. But more on that in a minute...

It started in the car. I knew because of day length that I could not make it to my destination of Borrego Springs without the help of a combustible engine. So my brother drove me the first 20 or so miles, in fact it was a little farther than I had planned because of the monster headwinds from the east. So, we stopped, had a quick cup of coffee, and I unloaded and put all my crap on my bike. I waved goodbye to Tom and off I went...

I jumped on the Girl Friday and started pedaling. CURR-PLUNCK! I looked down at the bottom bracket. Chain suck, no problem, I have learned it is common on a Bike Friday when you unfold it. I got on, shifted up in my front ring to re-set the chain CURR-FLUNK! Hmm, must be a REAL BAD chain suck, better get off and pull it on with my nice clean hands and gloves. But pulling didn't work either...

...somehow the chain got stuck on the wrong side of the small chain ring (on the front) and the bolt that holds the bottom part of the bike together when it folds. I pulled; I PULLed some more; I yanked; and then I PULLED again No luck. I don't know HOW that chain got to that position but there was no dislodging it. After a good 15 minutes of trying different things I started coming up with plan B's. I could break the chain, the most distasteful. What if I screw up the chain links? I could go back to the bike shop 10 or so miles back, but that would take way too much time. So, I tried taking off the small chain ring. It was not easy, because of the position of the bolts but it worked. PHEW!

Finally, I was off. Tom stuck around to make sure the chain was ok before he took off. After that the bike ran smoothly.

The ride after that was laced with monster headwinds and climbing, though I enjoyed the scenery greatly. Because of conditions it took way longer than I expected and I was glad I was smart enough to drive part of the way. I stopped for a hot cider in Ranchita, about 10 miles from Borrego Springs. After chatting with some locals I was off, but it seemed colder.

I rode about a mile, and just when I was starting to feel miserable from the cold, and debated the pros and cons of stopping to put on more clothes, the road headed down, and the scenery became amazing!

I have been down that road in a car but seeing it slowly, closer, on a bike just doesn't compare. Suddenly I didn't care so much that I was cold, that my fingers were getting numb. It was late in the day and the colors were amazing. You can't capture it in pictures but I tried. I coasted the next 10 miles-yes, that's right, it was all down hill from there!

It was a great day, an adventure, with the good the bad and the great! Tomorrow is a new adventure. The weather should be clear and I'm praying to the wind gods for special favors.

Thanks to everyone who has posted in the guest book. I really appreciate it!

Until tomorrow,

Karen

Thanks, but I'm not in the market at this time
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
About 15 miles from Borrego Springs
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hmmm, talk about an accurately named street!
Heart 0 Comment 0
These fellas sure were a friendly group. They came from across the meadow to say hello. Maybe it was the first time they saw a Bike Friday?
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm not sure what this is but how could I NOT get my picture taken with it?
Heart 1 Comment 0
OH YEAH! And the down hill section begins! WOO-HOOOO!
Heart 0 Comment 0
See that road on the bottom left? That's where I'm headed! :-)
Heart 1 Comment 0
The obligatory Crazy Guy On A Bike shadow shot
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yeah, right, like that's gunna happen
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking back from where I came
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 210 miles (338 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0