Day 99: Pemberton to Northcliffe - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

September 3, 2022

Day 99: Pemberton to Northcliffe

Start: 9am
Distance:  54km
Ride time:  4:24hours
Average:  12km/hr 
Max: 45km/hr
Finish: 3pm

I had a good breaky at a cafe/deli. I also bought locally made apple juice, soap, and chocolate.

A bitumen path on the way out of town.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This is the Gloucester Tree.
Heart 5 Comment 3
Veronica JoinerNeil climbed it about 17 years ago. Too high for me
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThat's amazing. He is very brave!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott DiamondI was too scared to even go look at it!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

At one time you could climb the 52 metres to an observation deck. It was closed for maintenance. I'm not sure if I would be brave enough to climb it in my cycling shoes.

Another big log that was cut for the cycling trail.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A cool looking fungus on a tree stump.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is a 200 metre long bridge with some big holes.
Heart 5 Comment 3
Annie O'SheaYes that's a good idea to walk across but would've been a little scary I feel
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott DiamondSo impressed by this trail. Seems like quite an adventure. Next time...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyYes mate, I definitely recommend it.👍🏻
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

There was a sign saying to dismount and walk across. I heeded that advice.

A nice and smooth track.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Today's downed tree obstacle.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I liked this two coloured flower.
Heart 7 Comment 1
Kerrie McCarthyGorgeous colours
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

It's a chorizema.

A path through some newly flowered tea tree or Manuka as the Kiwis call it.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This is a close up of the tea tree flower.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I was cruising slowly along a small road when I ended up in a farmers paddock. I realised quickly and went back to the road.

The trail goes straight through here for 200 metres.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I felt like I was walking on a farmer's land and I may well have been. There was no marked trail from one side to the other. 

I had to walk under 4 electric fence tapes. Fortunately they weren't live.

Crossing a small stream.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Annie O'SheaThat looks very relaxing and tranquil
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
My selfie in an old burnt out karri tree.
Heart 9 Comment 1
Annie O'Sheawow it's huge, amazing
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I stopped in Northcliffe at the Naughty Noodle Bar and had a coffee and banana bread. The banana bread was free because the lady was generous. 

The town is small with a few shops and a pub.

I rode 2kms out of town to the caravan park. 

I knew I was in the right spot when I saw this.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Bike bling at the caravan park office.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I am the only one staying in the park tonight.

I did my usual camp routine and then went back into the town to sit in the warm pub with a fire and a beer.

I must look like a hiker or a biker. After a while I was invited to join a group of 5 people. 3 were Bibbulmun hikers and 2 were friends.

They were friendly and nice. We spoke about typical things like the weight of things. They were surprised at how much stuff I'm carrying. I was surprised at how little stuff they carry. We had dinner together.

Meet Karina, Wendy, Alison, George, and Tristi.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Tristy FairfirldGreat to meet you Vincent. It was a such a lovely evening. Thanks to you I started my journaling again. Hope the ride is going well.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Tristy. Nice to meet you too. It was a fun night.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

It was dark when I rode back to the camp site. My lights weren't working so I wiggled the connection ports near the hub and they came on.

It's a poor wiring job and I hope it keeps on working. I use the lights a lot.

I'm sorry I forgot to take a pic of my camp site. It was lovely surrounded by big trees. The fee was $20.

Today's ride: 54 km (34 miles)
Total: 5,432 km (3,373 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0