Day 94: Donnybrook to Jarrahwood - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

August 29, 2022

Day 94: Donnybrook to Jarrahwood

Start: 8:45am
Distance:  52km
Ride time:  4:13hours
Average:  12km/hr 
Max: 52km/hr
Finish: 2:15pm

I had a cafe breaky while I waited for the post office to open. Unfortunately my parcel hasn't arrived. The staff were helpful and said they will call me when it arrives to organise forwarding it on to me.

I called the shire and paid $52 for the two nights I camped. I definitely considered not paying and I would have gotten away with it. 

But it is only a small campground and I want my money to help it be operational for other Munda Biddi Trail users.

It was about 10am by the time I left town.

Morning track.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Sheep.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Now I want a lamb burger.

A pretty flower.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Beth ArtCalled manuka in NZ
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyI love your honey.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
A long sandy section I walked through.
Heart 3 Comment 0

When I was riding, I spooked an emu. It ran along the road in front of me for 50 metres. They run funny.

A pine plantation.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A big fire went through here maybe a year ago.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Shortly after I spooked another emu. This one came running at me aggressively and turned back when it was only a few metres from me. 

It was then that I saw she had a few chicks with her. She wasn't a mean emu, she was only defending her young. They all walked quickly into the forest.

The ride to Jarrahwood was nice. I passed a cyclist riding north bound. When I arrived in Jarrahwood, I saw 6 cyclists heading south bound. They stopped for a break and continued on.

They were doing 107kms today. They were travelling very lightweight as they would always stay in hotels or B&Bs.

They complained about the condition of some of the track and were shocked I had done it on my bike with all of my gear.

I'm glad they moved on. I am used to having the huts all to myself.

Jarrahwood is a tiny locality. There are only a few houses here. No shops.

I enjoyed watching these kangaroos from the hut.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Hut book pic.
Heart 4 Comment 0

There are lots of mentions of the dog. Most say it's friendly, a couple say its a pain. I never saw it. I was happy to have the kangaroos instead.

Free!
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 km (32 miles)
Total: 5,171 km (3,211 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0