Day 68: Billabong to Nerren Nerren rest area - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

August 10, 2022

Day 68: Billabong to Nerren Nerren rest area

Start: 8:35 am
Distance:  75km
Ride time: 4:26 hours
Average: 17 km/hr 
Max: 27 km/hr
Finish: 1:40pm

There were little bits of rain during the night. It was cold this morning and I was reluctant to get up.

When I did get up I saw the parent swallow from the nest.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Kerrie McCarthyAka ‘Welcome Swallow’ the whole family nest in my porch, they’ve made 2 nests ❤️
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I saw it fly to the nest and then I saw there were 3 little chicks inside.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I saw lots of new flowers today:

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltAha! Finally found one! Some species of Pattersonia

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patersonia
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Bill!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Bill later identified this as a Pattersonia

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltDefinitely a species of Banksia... Maybe Ashbys Banksia?

https://inaturalist.ala.org.au/taxa/143349-Banksia-ashbyi
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Bill!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Bill later identified this as a banksia.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like some species of Grevillea.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/64515-Grevillea
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Bill later identified this as a grevillea

Heart 3 Comment 0
I passed a rest area with 2 water tanks that were empty.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Today's tree pic.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I then saw some agricultural land. Some sheep grazing land and some wheat.

I think this is wheat.
Heart 2 Comment 0

It was a bit of a rough day cycling. I had a strong gusty sidewind. There were a few isolated showers too. The terrain was mostly flat with a few hills at the end of the day.

I was happy to arrive at the rest area and find a vacant shelter. I was a little cold so I cooked up some soup. 

I heard from other campers there was another cyclist 10kms behind me when I was on the road.

I never saw him. There are more camp areas on the other side of the river. He must have stayed there.

Murchison River.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Even though I was under the shelter, the rain would blow in sideways. I put up my tent and jumped inside to escape from the cold gusty wind and rain.

Free!
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 75 km (47 miles)
Total: 4,007 km (2,488 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltWow! Western Australian spring wildflowers are so diverse!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Lednar De NallohTo Bill ShaneyfeltSure are, we're called the Wildflower state.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rita McCarthyYou have a good eye for the flowers. I suppose that’s the advantage of moving slower than a car.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyYeh, it often happens that I stop for one flower and see many smaller ones. Cycling and roadside flowers are a good combo.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago