Day 52: Bullara Station to Exmouth - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 18, 2022

Day 52: Bullara Station to Exmouth

Start: 5:35 am
Distance: 100km
Ride time: 5:22 hours
Average: 19km/hr 
Max: 33km/hr
Finish:   12:35pm

I was up before dawn for a big day. I had to get to the Exmouth Information Centre by 2pm.

All the accommodation in Exmouth is booked out. My only chance is to line up at 2pm to stay in the 'overflow park'. One can't book a site.

Sunrise.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Morning road pic. Note there's no shoulder.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The traffic was a bit rough. Most were speeding by too close for my liking.

There was lots of little hills which restricted visibility. People overtook me on crests and had near misses with oncoming cars.

A big termite mound.
Heart 6 Comment 0
After a long day, I made it to Exmouth.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I went straight to the information centre. I had an hour to wait so I had lunch in the cafe and then looked at the aquarium. 

I came out of the aquarium and there were 10 people lined at the counter for the overflow. I joined the line and hoped there would be enough room for me. I was fortunate to get a site.

There is no camp kitchen or anywhere to charge my phone. Hopefully my power banks will suffice until I can find power.

I earned this beer today.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Pub art.
Heart 4 Comment 0
$50!
Heart 3 Comment 3
Veronica JoinerUnbelievable the price!!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rita McCarthyVery unfair but we found Exmouth expensive when we were there 10 years ago. Loved the Cape range area.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 100 km (62 miles)
Total: 3,187 km (1,979 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0