Day 46: Fortescue River roadhouse to Robe River rest area - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2022

Day 46: Fortescue River roadhouse to Robe River rest area

Start: 9:20 am
Distance: 45 km
Ride time: 2:27 hours
Average: 18 km/hr
Max: 34 km/hr
Finish: 12 pm

I heard dingos howling at dusk and dawn. It's the first time I've heard them. It was pretty cool.

Josè was up at 5am while I kept on snoozing. I had a sleep in knowing that I had a short day ahead.

I crawled out of bed at 8am and had breakfast at the roadhouse.

This bush had pretty yellow flowers.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Road pic.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The road was gently undulating all day. The wind was a light cross wind.

Unknown river.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Slightly barren landscape.
Heart 3 Comment 0
My bike inside a massive piece of Rio Tinto machinery.
Heart 9 Comment 0
Welcome to Country.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The Robe River.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The rest area is beside the river. I went for a swim. It was warmer than the swim the other day.

This is a busy spot with more than 20 vans here by 3pm.

Barry came over for a chat with a cold beer.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Free!
Heart 8 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 km (28 miles)
Total: 2,759 km (1,713 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0