Day 42: South Hedland to Peawah River - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 7, 2022

Day 42: South Hedland to Peawah River

Start: 8:35 am
Distance: 83 km
Ride time: 3:59 hours
Average: 21 km/hr 
Max: 31km/hr
Finish: 1:10 pm

Another lazy morning. It was 5 degrees when I woke up.

Last night I got in late. I saw there was another cyclist in the park. He was already in bed. After I packed up this morning, I went over to say hi but he had already departed.

I saw him later on the road. He couldn't speak English and just wanted to keep on riding.

A wide load.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Turner River.
Heart 3 Comment 0
After a while I turned right.
Heart 5 Comment 0

All of the big road trains carrying iron ore went straight. There were lots of them this morning.

There were still road trains on my road. They were carrying various freight.

Road pic. I had a very smooth shoulder.
Heart 5 Comment 0

The wind was mostly in my favour too.

The Yule River was massive and dry too.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This is the only hill I saw all day.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Welcome to Ngarluma Country.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I had made it to Peawah River West rest area. There is no water in the river. There is a shaded table and toilets.

After a while the cyclist arrived here. He is using a trailer instead of panniers. He knows no English and is a Spaniard. 

I don't know his name. He's 72.
Heart 8 Comment 0

By showing me photos he was able to communicate that he started riding around Australia from Perth, going anti-clockwise. I think he is surviving on chick peas.

He was also with 2 other Spaniards. I think they may be a couple of days behind. One of them is on an electric bike. They both looked in their 70's as well. This must be the group I mentioned hearing about a few weeks ago.

We showed each other some milestone photos like capital cities or border crossings. And our dog pics.

This is the view from my campsite.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Free!
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 83 km (52 miles)
Total: 2,455 km (1,525 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0