Day 43: Peawah River to Roeburne - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 8, 2022

Day 43: Peawah River to Roeburne

Start: 8:05 am
Distance: 117 km
Ride time: 5:15 hours
Average: 22 km/hr
Max: 36 km/hr
Finish:  2 pm

There wasn't much traffic during the night so I slept well. I was still slow to get up. My Spaniard friend had left before I got up.

Thankfully there was a little tailwind again.

An oversize load carrying tyres.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Veronica JoinerAmazing the size of the mine tyres.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
It was nice to have some hills to look at.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I didn't have to climb any hills today.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I was stoked to see a Sturt desert pea.
Heart 14 Comment 0

This Sturt desert pea must be new as it hasn't developed the black middle part yet.

Sherlock River.
Heart 6 Comment 0
George River.
Heart 7 Comment 0
A flat grassy plain.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I made good time with the tailwind. About 10kms before Roebourne I saw my fellow cyclist ahead of me.

I wasn't expecting this as I thought he had told me he was staying in a different place a while back. It's hard with the language barrier.

I said: 'ola amigo'. He taught me that. I thought he said he was staying in a hotel in town. This is weird as there is no accommodation in town.

I stopped at the welcome to Country sign to take this pic.
Heart 5 Comment 0

He kept on cycling and I didn't see him again today. I hope he isn't cycling on further as its already been a big day for both of us.

My plan is to do a stealth camp.

I went to the servo and got a salad sandwich and a cold drink.

There was no water tap outside so kind Layton filled up my water bladders.
Heart 12 Comment 0

I then did a reconnaissance of the town looking for potential camping spots. I found a small park in the middle of town with lush grass.

Next I had to get clean. There is a river next to the town. It wasn't flowing and was murky but I was more dirty. I hopped in for a wash and gave my clothes a rinse.

Next I went to the Ganalili Cultural Centre. There are a few artworks for sale and lots of stories of the local indigenous people. 

Next to the centre is a small library. I was allowed to charge my devices while updating the blog.

Free!
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 117 km (73 miles)
Total: 2,572 km (1,597 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Chris DAVIDSONYour best recent camping spots seem to have been free!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyI miss showers but the free sites often are less noisy than caravan parks.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago