Day 186: Bombala to Cooma - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

November 30, 2022

Day 186: Bombala to Cooma

Start: 7:05am
Distance: 95km
Ride time: 6:23hours
Average: 15km/hr 
Max: 57km/hr
Finish: 3pm

There were lots of trucks going past during the night. I had to use ear plugs to get some sleep.

This morning's tree pic.
Heart 11 Comment 0

There were lots and lots of trucks on the road today. Hundreds of them.

Most of them were carrying pine logs from Bombala to Cooma. (Sorry for the bad framing.)
Heart 5 Comment 0
The road to Nimmitabel was sheep grazing country with some gum trees sprinkled about.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Sheep waiting to be shorn.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I had a poor quality lunch from the Nimmitabel bakery.

I crossed the Great Dividing Range. I previously crossed it after leaving Cairns last year, about 3,000kms from here.
Heart 7 Comment 0

The Great Dividing Range

The ride up to this point was very hilly with more inclines than declines. 

From this point it was mostly downhill to Cooma, about 35kms from here. I was very grateful for the downhill.

There wasn't much shoulder and the verge was overgrown.
Heart 6 Comment 0

When the log trucks approached, I would swerve into the vegetation and stop to wait for them to pass.

Usually this area is brown with dry grass. This season there is lots of green grass.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I think this is meant to be a sheep riding a bike? It has a sheep's skull with horns for a head and it is carrying skis too.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I was happy to get real sheep in the picture. And did you notice the magpie perched near the seat? 

After climbing 950 metres, I arrived in Cooma.

I celebrated with a coffee thick shake made with real espresso. Yum!
Heart 6 Comment 0
The town has about 20 Santas on the shop facades.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A shop artwork.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A grevillea in the caravan park.
Heart 9 Comment 0
Another grevillea.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I had a fresh and spicy dinner at Pha's Thai restaurant. 

Superb fish cakes for entree.
Heart 4 Comment 0
An awesome green chicken curry and a mojito mocktail.
Heart 3 Comment 0
$25.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 95 km (59 miles)
Total: 10,851 km (6,738 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Lucy MartinI was hoping you’d go to Cooma—it’s where my MIL spent most of her younger years (she emigrated to the States with her family in 1958). If I ever make it to Australia, it’s the one place I know we’ll visit, as a tour of the Snowy Mountain Hydroelectric Scheme is a must.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Toby TesterVince, almost there!! After three attempts.. Heroic stuff.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyHi Lucy, sorry I was too focused on getting home to do a tour. Another day.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Toby.
I'm pretty stoked to be home today.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago