Day 185: Goongerah to Bombala - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

November 29, 2022

Day 185: Goongerah to Bombala

Start: 7:50am
Distance: 95km
Ride time: 6:20hours
Average: 15km/hr 
Max: 52km/hr
Finish: 3:20pm

It rained during the night and early morning. Luckily it stopped about 7am so I could pack up.

I saw a wallaby on the way out of Goongerah.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Goongerah Creek.
Heart 5 Comment 1
I had Errinundra National Park on my right.
Heart 7 Comment 0
And Snowy National Park on my left.
Heart 6 Comment 0
There were lots of big trees.
Heart 4 Comment 0
After a while, the bitumen turned to gravel. There were no log trucks today.
Heart 4 Comment 0

At the river I turned right onto the Gap Road to Bendoc. There were many hills.

Bonang River.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Tree ferns lined the road.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This is a sassafras tree. If you scrunch up the leaves it gives off a wonderful scent. It is also an attractive wood in furniture.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Southern sassafras.

This is a Gippsland waratah. The red is a great contrast to the green forest.
Heart 8 Comment 0

Gippsland waratah.

This is mountain pepper.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The mountain pepper leaves have a very strong pepper taste and the seeds can be used just like regular pepper corns.

Big trees grow in Bendoc.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Carmen MusgraveI loved Bendoc too, so pretty.
I was hoping to wave on your way through Orbost, but you are nearly home now !
Well done Vince, what an amazing feat! I’m so proud of you :)
Carmen.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThanks heaps Carmen.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I only saw 10 cars between Goongerah and Bendoc. Bendoc is a very small town with maybe 20 houses and a pub.

I lived in Bendoc for a couple of years and worked in the forests. It was a wonderful job.

About 10kms out of town I crossed the  Victorian border into New South Wales.

There was no welcome to NSW sign for me to take a pic. 😔
Heart 7 Comment 0
There were lots of pine plantations between Bendoc and Delegate.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I had lunch at one of the few shops in Delegate. 

The road between Delegate and Bombala is mostly sheep grazing country.
Heart 3 Comment 0
After a big day I made it Bombala.
Heart 7 Comment 0
I couldn't see any platypus in the Bombala River.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I made camp and sat down for a while. I was pretty tired. Today I had climbed 1,250 metres in elevation. I think this is the hilliest day of my trip.

Riding through the forest yesterday and today was amazing for me. It brought back many fond memories of my time here.

This evil huntsman was in the amenities. It was bigger than my hand.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltNice find! A famous critter.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyI am petrified of spiders like this. So scary 😨
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
$23.50.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 95 km (59 miles)
Total: 10,756 km (6,679 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0