Day 177: Geelong to Stony Point - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

November 21, 2022

Day 177: Geelong to Stony Point

Start: 8:10am
Distance: 84km
Ride time: 4:04hours
Average: 21km/hr 
Max: 56km/hr
Finish: 3:20pm

I had a massive tailwind this morning. The wind was 40-75km/hr. 

I headed east to Queenscliff to catch the ferry to Sorrento. This saves me 2 day's riding and avoids busy Melbourne and it's suburbs. 

A bike path in Queenscliff.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Annie O'SheaHey that's a great bike path, looks very pleasant to ride on
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

It cost $16 for the ferry ticket and my bike was free.

It was windy and rough yet they didn't tie my bike to the boat.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Annie O'SheaGood price and saving you all that stress from having to ride through Melbourne traffic, good thinking
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

It didn't fall overboard so all was good.

Rough water.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Annie O'SheaBugger, that really is rough
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Sorrento beach.
Heart 6 Comment 0

It rained lots so there are few photos. I rode along the beach for a while and then turned inland and climbed a hill.

I didn't see any koalas.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I arrived in Stony Point in between rain showers and was able to put up my tent.

Tomorrow I want to catch the ferry from here to Phillip Island. The ferry didn't operate today because of the bad weather. I hope it's working tomorrow. 

Today's ride: 84 km (52 miles)
Total: 10,155 km (6,306 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0