Day 171: Peterborough to Princetown - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

November 15, 2022

Day 171: Peterborough to Princetown

Start: 10:30am
Distance: 41km
Ride time: n/a hours
Average: n/a km/hr 
Max: 46km/hr
Finish: 4:10pm

My sleeping mat has developed a leak. I have to blow more air into it about 3 or 4 times during the night. It's been like this for a week. Hopefully I'll stay in a big caravan park soon that has a pool so I can find the leak.

It was raining this morning. I had planned a short riding day so I didn't get up until there was a break in the weather.

Today the wind maxed out at 45km/hr. Mostly a crosswind. I didn't mind the wind today. It meant there was a big swell and it was easy to imagine how the sea would erode the cliffs.

I planned a short day so I would have the time to visit all of the little coastal views. Sometimes I had to walk a little distance from the carparks and it all took time.

My first stop was The Grotto.
Heart 6 Comment 0

There were some steps going down closer to the water but it was about to rain so I kept moving.

With the wind it was cold. I wore my waterproof gloves, pants and jacket. 

The rain would come in isolated showers so I had good periods of sunshine and no rain.

The London Bridge.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Annie O'SheaI saw it before the other half broke into the see but it's still beautiful
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyI remember that too.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The small town of Port Campbell.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I stopped in town for 1.5 hours. I had a good cafe lunch and bought supplies and waited out more rain in the tourist info centre.

While I was inside I saw a couple I had met previously in Borroloola last year. Maybe 12,000kms ago.

I didn't see any landslides today.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Some of the coastline features weren't  signposted with names. And there were many different little islands so please forgive me if I have misnamed any.

The Lochard Gorge.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
The Razorback.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Muttonbird Island.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Twelve Apostles. I could only see 5.
Heart 9 Comment 3
charles reimerCant see 12? must have lost your faith! re sleeping matt leak, i found that 'Gorilla tape' to be a good temparty repair until able to do permanat fix. Charles
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThanks Charles. I have some gorilla tape with me. I've also used tube patches with success.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Annie O'SheaThe others were eroded into the sea years ago, one by one. Again when I first saw them there still were 12, now I'm showing my age hahahahaha
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gibson's Steps.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Random rock formation.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I'm staying at the Princetown Reserve. It is very basic and has hot showers. There are no shops in Princetown. 

A cute superb fairy wren was hopping around my bike.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Kathleen ClassenAustralia has the most amazing birds. This one is beautiful.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyHi Kathleen. I agree🐦🦜🦉🦅
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Happy kangaroos. I know kangaroos are common but I still enjoy seeing them up close.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Rich Frasier…and just speaking for myself, I’m always happy when you post a pic of kangaroos.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyWahoo! Thanks Rich.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Most of today's coastline was in the Twelve Apostles National Park. The campsite is in the Great Otways National Park. 

I was very happy today to see the coast. It was spectacular. Another highlight of my trip. 

$15.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 km (25 miles)
Total: 9,853 km (6,119 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0