Day 166: Beachport to Mt Gambier - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

November 10, 2022

Day 166: Beachport to Mt Gambier

Start: 7:40am
Distance: 99km
Ride time:   4:59hours
Average:  20km/hr 
Max: 45km/hr
Finish: 2:20pm

It rained a little during the night and due to the wind my tent was dry in the morning.

There were dark clouds and lots of thunder this morning and luckily it never rained during the day.

Morning Beachport pic.
Heart 7 Comment 0
The bike path on the way out of town.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Lots of green grass.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I saw two donkeys. They weren't interested in coming over and saying hi.
Heart 9 Comment 0

Some artwork in Millicent:

Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 9 Comment 2
Rita McCarthyBet your dad would relate to that mural. They certainly bright up a wall.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Annie O'SheaSo love the art works, it never ceases to amaze me
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Some baby dairy cows. This is the only dairy farm I saw.
Heart 5 Comment 0
There were lots of pine plantations.
Heart 6 Comment 0
And a few road trains were carting the timber to Mt Gambier. I couldn't get a good pic of them.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A nice old farm building.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Today's tree pic.
Heart 9 Comment 0

It was a bit hilly from Millicent to Mt Gambier. A tailwind helped me a lot.

On the edge of town, I took this old rail trail bike path for a few kms.
Heart 8 Comment 0
And saw a friendly giant shingleback.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I rode up a hill to see the very blue Blue Lake. It's an old volcano crater.
Heart 11 Comment 2
Annie O'SheaDid you know it's only that blue in certain weather conditions otherwise it's a dull grey
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyI didn't know that. Thanks mum.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I then rode a few more kms to see the Umpherston Sinkhole.
Heart 12 Comment 0

Someone had made a little garden in the bottom of it. One could walk to the bottom. I was too lazy to do it. I was hot and sweaty and needed a shower.

I checked into a caravan park right in the centre of town.

The town hall already has Xmas decorations.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyYes these are up everywhere in Geelong as well. Obviously making the most of their efforts.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I enjoyed the opportunity to have some flavoursome Thai food for dinner.
Heart 8 Comment 0
A very fair $25.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 99 km (61 miles)
Total: 9,530 km (5,918 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0