Day 131: Winny Wombat rest area to Nundroo - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

October 5, 2022

Day 131: Winny Wombat rest area to Nundroo

Start: 8:40am
Distance: 45km
Ride time: 1:58hours
Average:  23km/hr 
Max: 34km/hr
Finish: 11:50am

My sleep last night was disturbed by a few trucks coming into the rest area. This ended with me having a long sleep in. It was great.

Today's scenery had big trees.
Heart 9 Comment 0
Sheep grazing land.
Heart 3 Comment 0
And wheat.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I enjoyed another good tailwind. 

It was a short ride to the Nundroo roadhouse. I arrived at lunchtime.

Today's big truck.
Heart 8 Comment 2
Mike AylingW0nder what one of those tyres cost?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyI wonder how they install them. They must have a massive crane.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
And had a terrific lamb roganjosh.
Heart 7 Comment 0

It was great to eat some spice instead of hamburgers. 

I considered riding further but I was having a lazy day and decided to stay here.

When I walked out of the shop, a couple caravaners kindly gave me a  cold beer and a coke.

Craig overtook me yesterday and is now one day ahead. He will end his ride in Ceduna and stay there a few nights. I'll catch up with him then.

And a veggie karma for dinner. The best roadhouse food on the Nullarbor.
Heart 8 Comment 0
$8!
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 km (28 miles)
Total: 7,707 km (4,786 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Toby TesterHi Vince, it's Toby. I was following your 2nd attempt and somewhat late in catching up with your 3rd. But glad I have! Good on you. I'm steeped in admiration. Love your simple prose. I'm now bookmarking your blogs so I don't lose you again.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyG'day Toby, thanks for coming back and following along!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago