Day 12: Kununurra to Cockburn rest area - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2022

Day 12: Kununurra to Cockburn rest area

Start: 9:55am

Distance: 48kms
Ride time: 2:42 hours
Average: 18km/hr
Max: 45km/hr
Finish: 12:45pm
Temp: 35 degrees

I had a late start this morning as I needed to wait for the post office to open to collect my food parcel.

My big 8kg box of food to squeeze into my panniers.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I had sent this box from Canberra before I flew to Katherine. It took me a while to transfer the goodies. Essentially I have 2 weeks food supply. This will get me through the Gibb River Road. 

This is a best case scenario. Worst case scenario is I will be hungry for the next two weeks.

It was nice to be on the bike again heading out of town.

Dunham River.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Some Braham cattle grazing next to the road.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Kerrie McCarthyThe graham’s are the best part
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Road pic.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Hill pic.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I had a small tailwind. Riding in the heat of the day was annoying. I sweated and drank lots.

I arrived at the Cockburn rest area. It was toilets and shaded picnic tables.

There is no water here at the rest stop. This morning I left Kununurra with 16 litres of water. Heavy stuff.

Free!
Heart 4 Comment 2
Cheryl IvesSafe travels Vincent
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Cheryl.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I may not have phone reception for the next 2 weeks on the Gibb River Road.  Please don't fret. I'll update the blog when I can.

Today's ride: 48 km (30 miles)
Total: 591 km (367 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0