Day 117: Salmon Gums to Norseman - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

September 21, 2022

Day 117: Salmon Gums to Norseman

Start: 6:40am
Distance: 106 km
Ride time:  5:53hours
Average:  18km/hr 
Max: 30km/hr
Finish: 2:10pm

It didn't rain last night so I was able to pack up a dry tent.

Morning road pic.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today I was in Ngadju country.

This tree had a nice olive green colour.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A dry salt bed.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Unfortunately didn't see any brumbies today.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Today's big truck carrying a big farming machine.
Heart 3 Comment 0
It's an onion weed.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I like it. Asphodelus fistulosus.

It's a nightshade and probably a weed I think.
Heart 3 Comment 0
There were lots of these pretty colourful flowers on the roadside today.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Annie O'SheaYes it is a Gazania and do spread very easily but do .ok colourful
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I think this is Gazania linearis. Another weed. I was still very happy to see all of the different colours. 

Some corrugated camels greeted me when I arrived into Norseman.
Heart 7 Comment 1
A nice mural.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Norseman is a small town. It is struggling and looks run down. I had dinner at a roadhouse. 

The ride today was tough but easier than yesterday. There was little wind when I started this morning and it gradually increased during the day. I was heading north and the wind was coming from the northwest.

In the camp ground, I met a few other riders. They are riding 4,200kms from Perth to Newcastle. I think they are a group of 25 riders with 14 support people.

They aren't carrying any gear on their bikes as they have support vehicles that follow them. They are doing about 180kms/day. They aren't camping in tents.

They are raising money for vulnerable children living in poverty. You can check out their website here.

When I was replacing the map in my handle bar bag, the see through plastic broke.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltSadly uv radiation from the sun deteriorates plastic.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyYeh, it's a shame.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I'm a bit disappointed. It's only about 2 years old. I had to put tape over it otherwise when it rains, it will wet all of the contents. 

$20.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 106 km (66 miles)
Total: 6,597 km (4,097 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0