Day 111: Wellstead to Jerramungup - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

September 15, 2022

Day 111: Wellstead to Jerramungup

Start: 8:35am
Distance:  84km
Ride time:  4:15hours
Average:  20km/hr 
Max: 56km/hr
Finish: 1pm

It was windy and a little rainy during the night. The rain stopped before I got up. The wind was still blowing strong from the west.

I made a hot chocolate and porridge with fresh milk for breaky. It was great.

I was also impressed to see my mirror seems well secured. I'm thankful as a helmet mirror gives a much greater view behind than a handlebar mirror which is further from your eyes.

Crossing the Pallinup River.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This bright orange flower stood out.
Heart 8 Comment 4
Beth ArtJust love looking at your flower pictures. I don't think of flowers when considering dry Australia landscapes. You are showing quite a different side of your huge continent.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyI love the flowers too.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott DiamondI agree with Beth. You're done an amazing job with all the flower shots.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

It's a Chittick.

I got off the road for this wide load.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The landscape was either canola or wheat.
Heart 2 Comment 0

It was a little bit hilly. The tailwind helped a lot. There wasn't much traffic.

Jerramungup is a small town with a few shops including a cafe. I went there for lunch.

After lunch I went to a small garden in town.

It states that Jerramungup is inside the Fitzgerald Biosphere Reserve.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I'm not sure if this really means anything substantial. You can read more here.

I checked into the very quiet caravan park. The caretaker says he gets lots of cyclists through here. I should have asked him how many per year.

A very cheap $15.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 84 km (52 miles)
Total: 6,046 km (3,755 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0