Day 110: Albany to Wellstead - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

September 14, 2022

Day 110: Albany to Wellstead

Start:  8am
Distance: 104km
Ride time:  4:56hours
Average:  21km/hr 
Max:  52km/hr
Finish: 3:25pm

It was very very windy during the night. It rained too. I didn't sleep well due to the wind noise and the tent shaking.

I packed up my tent in between rain squalls and went to a cafe for breaky. 

I bought some special plastic glue to try to repair my mirror later in the day.

I had to wait for the bike shop to open at 9am so I could buy a new mirror.

They only had a handle bar mirror.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Beth ArtI've been using a mirror like that for years now. It's my favorite. I move it nearer the end of my handle bar extension so I can still hold onto it. I do have a small hand. I move it back down when stopped so it doesn't shoot of the end and get lost.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyHaving a mirror is essential for me.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

It didn't take long to leave Albany as I was on the right side of town to head to Esperance. 

The weather was still raining and windy. The wind was a tailwind. At times it would gust at 70km/hr!

It felt amazing to be on the open road again, heading east. I feel like I am on the home run to Canberra. 

I had a good shoulder for the first 50kms and then there was no shoulder.
Heart 7 Comment 0

The sign is for yellow tail black cockatoos.  I've seen a lot of them.

I didn't take many pics due to the rain. I got a few waves from the traffic which was lovely.

I saw this red banksia during a dry spell.
Heart 7 Comment 0
I saw this sign on a dirt road.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I don't know what it means. I still have about 5,000kms before I get home to Canberra. 

There was some blue sky when I arrived in Wellstead and I was happy to stop.
Heart 3 Comment 0

This is a tiny place with a general store and a school I think.

The caravan park is very basic. It has hot showers and a camp kitchen. I set my tent up right next to the camp kitchen to be sheltered from the wind.

I had a hot shower and put on lots of warm clothing and took refuge from the cold weather in the camp kitchen. 

I spoilt myself with treats that I bought yesterday. I'm glamping again.
Heart 6 Comment 3
Annie O'SheaWow you sure went the whole hog, enjoy
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Beth ArtThat looks amazing.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThanks Beth. I'm so sick of dehydrated meals.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I found a blue pelican riding a bicycle.
Heart 4 Comment 0

There were several orchids in a glass jar in the camp kitchen:

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0

They were lovely and I was pleased to see them.

I glued my mirror back on. It took a few attempts. I think the cold weather made it hard for the glue to work. I left my helmet in the camp kitchen overnight, hoping it would be warmer in there and the glue will have time to cure.

$15.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 104 km (65 miles)
Total: 5,962 km (3,702 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0