Day 103: Rest day. - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

September 7, 2022

Day 103: Rest day.

It rained overnight and I was overdue a rest day. I slept late and lay in bed. I had muesli with fresh milk. It's so cold that I leave the milk next to my tent so I don't have to get up in the morning to retrieve it from the camp kitchen.

Eventually I got up and spoke to the lovely receptionist, Melody to pay for an additional night.

My bike lights had stopped working. It's a loose wiring connection and I don't have the skills or tools to fix it.

I'm not really sure who is the best person for the job, so I asked Melody if there was an auto electrician in town.

She said the owner Phil is an electrician and may be able to help. Phil was currently busy but later in the day he came by and we took my bike to his workshop.

He didn't have his soldering iron on site, yet he was able to identify the problem and do a good temporary fix.

The wire to the lights is a shielded wire and this was short circuiting, stopping the lights from working.

He even called Passmore Cycles in Albany and explained the issue. They said they will help me on Monday when I get to Albany. 

This took about 30 minutes. I was ecstatic to have the lights working again!

I use them every day during daylight hours. When I'm in towns I use them to get home after having a dinner out. And when in the top end, I used them to cycle in the wee hours of the morning to avoid the heat.

My local bike shop in Canberra was incapable of fixing the problem and charged me $180 for a mediocre attempt.

I offered Phil cash for his time and he wouldn't accept it. Saying he does a lot more for caravaners and doesn't charge them.

Meet Doug, Phil, and Tony. Generous people.
Heart 9 Comment 1
Annie O'SheaThank you, you wonderful people for helping Vince
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I will think of a way to express my gratitude in the near future.

Meet Katie the kookaburra.
Heart 7 Comment 0
A close up.
Heart 7 Comment 0
The kangaroos get the scraps from the galahs.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This kangaroo was disappointed I didn't have any apple for him.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I'm staying at Coalmine Beach. Please consider staying here if you're in the area. If you're on the Bibbulmun Track or the Munda Biddi Trail, they pass right by here.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rainbow at dinner time.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Today's ride: 15 km (9 miles)
Total: 5,588 km (3,470 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0