Day 10: Rest day - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 5, 2022

Day 10: Rest day

I had the aircon on all night. I am far from the main road so I didn't hear any road trains. My pillow is normal and not inflatable with a leak. These things made last night's sleep pretty amazing.

Getting out of bed was easy. I just swivelled my legs onto the ground and stood up. This is much easier than getting up at ground level from my tent with a sore back. Amazing.

Usually for breakfast I have porridge made with water. Today, I had normal cereal with fresh cold milk. It was also amazing.

Then I walked to a cafe and had a real coffee. More amazing.

The cafe was flat out. I waited 30 minutes for my coffee. In general, all of the roadhouses, pubs, cafes and caravan parks are all understaffed. It would be very easy to get work here.

I did nothing much for a few hours. I watched a bit of TV on my phone. My flight pick up was due at 1:30pm.

At midday, I went to the nearby hotel and ordered lunch. Shortly after, I received a call from the tour company. Due to the daily cloud development they would pick me up in 15 minutes. Unfortunately I didn't get my lunch.

This is our 14 seater Cessna.
Heart 5 Comment 0

It was very hot inside. The air con barely worked. There was no in-flight beverage service.

The crop on the left is Kensington Pride mangoes. The crop on the right is sandalwood.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I forget the name of this river.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Lake Argyle. 40 times the size of Sydney Harbour.
Heart 10 Comment 0
The World Heritage Listed Bungle Bungles.
Heart 8 Comment 0

The Bungle Bungles

The Bungle Bungles.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Landscape pics.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 1
Cheryl IvesMagnificent ancient landscape
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The Argyle diamond mine. The mine closed in 2020.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Here is a pic of some pink diamonds I liked yesterday. It could be yours for a mere $28,000.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Landscape with isolated rain storms.
Heart 5 Comment 0

The flight cost $450. I think it was a fair price. I was able to see a range of terrain from a perspective you don't get from a bicycle. The flight was due south and I am heading west so it's not accessible for me without taking the flight.

It was worth having a rest day for this.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Lednar De NallohWelcome to WA. I think you deserve a little luxury in Kununurra
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Annie O'SheaLoved the diamonds they'd look great on me
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThanks mate. I'm happy to be here!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyHaha. If I was rich enough to buy you those diamonds, I wouldn't be riding my bike around Australia.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Veronica JoinerThe Bungle Bungles are amazing. One day you should see them up close. Next time. : )
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kerrie McCarthyAbsolutely awesome Vince, Kunanarra is a beautiful area
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThanks aunty. I enjoyed ny time there.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago