Frustrating ride to Hungary - Free Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2022 to August 17, 2022

Frustrating ride to Hungary

I knew I could reach Hungary with a couple of days of hard riding. The question was where could I find accommodation. Zalău, a large town 70 km North West of Cluj seemed the obvious choice. Within minutes of starting, I encountered roads signs mentioning Zalău. But there was a catch: Those roads would have lots of traffic and no shoulder.

So I chose a lot of detours on smaller roads. 18 km from Zalău (26 with detours), I stopped for lunch. I consulted Google Maps. There was a pensiunea near Boghiș ! If I cycled the rest of the day, I can just reach it.

The next day I started cycling to Marghita at the crack of dawn. After 20 km there were too many trucks and the road was too worn out, in part due to construction of the A3. So once again I diverted to back roads.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 275 km (171 miles)
Total: 1,883 km (1,169 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0