NOVA SCOTIA FLAG - Atlantic Canada - Counter Clockwise - CycleBlaze

NOVA SCOTIA FLAG

Flag of Nova Scotia

I enjoy displaying the flags of the places where I tour.  The designs are always so unique - full of history and pride.   Think about the individual emotions felt when seeing the Stars and Stripes or the flag that bonds you to your special interests.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Keith AdamsWhen we've toured in Europe, I generally fly the flag of the country in which we're cycling as well as the Stars and Stripes plus the Maryland state flag. I figure that, if nothing else, flying the flag of the host country will play (okay, pander) to their national pride and garner us a few goodwill "brownie points". Not that we've ever felt the least bit unwelcome.

On Bike South 2000 (a one-time 2,000 mile tour in the year 2000), I had a display of small state flags; each week when we entered a new state I'd add that state's flag to the collection. By the end I had all six: Florida, Alabama, Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, and Virginia.

For my upcoming trip I think I'll fly Old Glory and the Maryland flag. Gotta get to work fabricating a mount for them.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Keith AdamsKeith, I use a carbon fiber tent pole, one that has sections. It works really good too. When folded the pole can be stashed in my pannier. I glue the flag to the pole (wrap it once around the pole) and it works great. I attach the pole to the bike with duck tape and zip ties, or I use a plastic tube taped to the bike as a mount. Not my idea, I stole it from someone else :)
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith AdamsHmmmmm, tent pole. I think I have an old dead aluminum pole lying around somewhere that might serve.

In the past I've used a short piece of 1/2" dowel rod, attaching the flag with heavy wire (I usually file a couple shallow channels in the dowel to give the wire a better "grip". The dowel gets attached to the bike with zip ties or small hose clamps, depending on where I'm attaching it.

For this go-around I've already built a small gizmo to hold the tail lights; it's got a block of wood that serves as a spacer to extend the thing beyond the back of the rear panniers so that the lights will always be in the clear.

I was considering drilling a couple holes in that block to serve as flag mounts, and tightly friction-fitting the "flag pole" in there. Now I have some new ideas to ponder- thanks for that!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago