Rest days and cooking lessons in Ban Tong Tom - Frankie goes to.....the South of Thailand (2018) - CycleBlaze

October 31, 2018 to November 1, 2018

Rest days and cooking lessons in Ban Tong Tom

I have neither the intention nor the skills to live up to the innumerable cooking programmes being televised nowadays. When I stayed with Peed and Komar last April we did a first just-for-fun video on how to prepare her divine seafood dip though. My brother Ralf followed those instructions in succession when he had friends around for a BBQ.  The result was quite satisfying and he urged me to continue with my instruction efforts. So here we go again! We being Peed, the distinguished master of Thai cuisine; her husband Komar, the camera man and myself as the non-stop yapping apprentice: 

Pad Khrapao Talay / Thai Basil with seafood 

Ingredients Pad Khrapao Talay (clockwise from top left): garlic, oyster sauce, squid, mussels, shrimp, sugar, hot chilis, ross di (flavouring agent on salt base, I personally would just take sea salt as it contains MSG), soy sauce, Thai basil, long beans
Heart 1 Comment 0
The result and the way how to get there:
Heart 1 Comment 0

Note: Komar´s mobile phone automatically split the videos in two parts and as I don´t have the software to reunite them I had to upload two parts for any dish we recorded

Khao Pad Pu / Fried rice with crab 

Ingredients Khao Pad Pu (for 4 people): 3 eggs, diced carots, sliced onions, soy sauce, sugar, spring onions, ross di flavouring agent (to be replaced by seasalt due to MSG contents), crab meat (any other seafood or meat is an alternative), left-over boiled rice, chopped tomatoes, garlic
Heart 0 Comment 0
That´s the only photo I have with the fried rice in it but you would have seen some before I guess
Heart 0 Comment 0

Gaeng Phla Duc / Cat fish curry 

Ingredients Gaeng Phla Duc: catfish (any other seafood or meat goes as well), long beans, baby eggplants (alternative: peas), mild green and red chilis (alternative: peppers), basil and mint leaves, coconut milk, palm sugar, shrimp paste, salt, hot green and red curry paste, lime leaves
Heart 0 Comment 0
The result on the top left and how to get there:
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Mike AylingThat food looks delicious!

Mike
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Mike AylingThank you, Mike. When I am asked why I spend so much time cycling in Thailand I would indeed nominate the food as one third of the decision. The other two thirds being the infrastructure (good roads with shoulder; availability of inexpensive accommodation) and the people themselves of course.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago