Day 6: Thung Wua Laen Beach - Ban Tong Tom - Frankie goes to.....the South of Thailand (2018) - CycleBlaze

October 30, 2018

Day 6: Thung Wua Laen Beach - Ban Tong Tom

Unfortunately the blue skies from yesterday seem to have been only a short intermezzo. Mixed bag again today which was a shame as I really love my cycling around Chumphon. So many options of small, attractive side roads running along the sea, lush vegetation and charming hamlets with the #4008 heading south out of Thung Wua Laen Beach being an absolute must-start. Later on I bypassed Chumphon on the east, zigzagging along the numerous canals where the first heavy downpour forced me into an early noodlesoup stop. I didn´t mind that at all as I did not only have plenty of time in hand but the kwai tiau was as good as it gets.

South of Chumphon the shower activity continued but knowing I would be spending the next three nights with my friends Peed and Komar even getting wet boots was no real threat to me today. Actually I quite enjoyed the fresh and cool air coming with that low pressure front and the cycling was as good as it is north of town. The #2018 out of Chumphon followed by the #2010 once off the#41 will never get me bored, even not in those damp conditions. 

So here I am again in the cul-de-sac fishing village called Ban Tong Tom, staying at the Na Koa Rimlay homestay owned by Komar, descendant of a local fishing clan, and his wife Peed, who has professionally cooked in top restaurants all over the South of Thailand. Their place is rather basic from the accommodation point of view but feels like a second home to me. And the food here is better than any seafood restaurant I know. That´s why I will have an extra page on my time here that has nothing to do with cycling - it will be all about learning how to prepare my favourite Thai dishes. During my last stay in April we did a first video while Peed tought me how to prepare a spicy seafood dip. My brother Ralf has replicated it along that video and his guests were rather impressed. So he urged me to continue with some other Thai meals and his wish is my order!

Along the #4008 with the sea directly on the left
Heart 3 Comment 0
As pleasant as a rain interruption can get
Heart 3 Comment 0
This coconut-monkey was not happy with my presence at all and after already having been attacked by another one in Prachuap Khiri Khan a few days ago I was not interested in having another dispute
Heart 6 Comment 2
Paul LawranceMonkeys cannot be trusted. Unpredictable and can be verocious! I had some bad experience as a soldier in Malaysia and as a tourist in Thailand.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Paul LawranceThe good news about your experience is that they obviously do not dislike me personally, Paul. I was starting to get a bit concerned...
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
This gentleman was far more receptive
Heart 4 Comment 0
I would usually admire that upcycling attempt but the roosters were clearly unhappy being chained to those old tires all day long
Heart 5 Comment 1
Paul LawranceThe chicken is much safer :-)
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Shrine at the turnoff for Ban Tong Tom
Heart 3 Comment 0
The inviting entrance of the Na Koa Rimlay Homestay...
Heart 3 Comment 0
...and their even more attractive huge terrace out into the sea
Heart 4 Comment 0
My welcome drink about to be beheaded by Peed and Somkit, a good friend of the family. The attractive red bamboo makes for an appropriate setting
Heart 5 Comment 0
Customer service at its very best. Much appreciated, Komar!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Thung Wua Laen Beach - Ban Tong Tom
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 75 km (47 miles)
Total: 400 km (248 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0